RSS

Cake. With Rhubarb. And Lemon.

22 Jun

I know I promised something other than dessert once our CSA started up again, but this cake is just begging to be shared. And who am I to say no to cake? Especially a lemon-rhubarb-buttermilk cake that’s baked in a bundt pan and then drizzled with a lemon glaze.

See? You’d talk about cake too, if you were me. 🙂

A couple of weeks ago, I decided that I wanted rhubarb cake. I also decided that it had been too long since I’d used my bundt pan, and, therefore, my rhubarb cake had to be made in said bundt pan. (You’d hate for bakeware to feel neglected, right?) 

Well, when you Google “rhubarb bundt cake” this recipe from Honey and Jam is one of the first ones that pops up. It had everything I was looking for – which I guess was just rhubarb, cake and a bundt pan. It even had the added bonus of helping me use up some buttermilk that was hanging out in my fridge. Win-win, right?

Well… sort of. Let’s just say that you’re not looking at a picture of this cake the first time I made it. That was mostly operator error on my part though. I didn’t butter the bundt pan thoroughly enough, and I rushed the cooling process. Put those together, and what you have is a hot mess. Only half of the cake flipped out of the pan, and while it tasted great, I was pretty bummed that I couldn’t cut it and serve it to anyone besides Andy.

I wasn’t going to give up on the cake though. Oh no. I made it again, not only buttering the pan but flouring it too, and I let it cool the full 30 minutes before flipping it out of the pan.

Much better.

RhubarbCake

Lemon Rhubarb Buttermilk Bundt Cake

2 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour, plus more for the pan
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter, softened, plus more for the pan
1 3/4 cups sugar
zest of 1 lemon
3 eggs
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
3/4 cup buttermilk
1 lb. rhubarb, sliced into pieces about 1/4″ wide (I added some strawberries the second time I made this, and they worked well with the rhubarb/lemon combo.)

For the glaze:
2 cups powdered sugar, sifted
juice of 1 lemon
1 tablespoon butter, almost melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Generously butter and flour a 10-cup bundt pan.

In a medium bowl, sift the flour, salt, and baking powder. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the butter, sugar and lemon zest together until light and fluffy, about 3-5 minutes on medium-high. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, scrapping the sides of the bowl after each addition. Mix in the lemon juice.

Stir in the flour mixture in three additions, and stir in the buttermilk mixture in two additions, beginning and ending with the flour mixture. (In other words, add 1/3 of the flour, then 1/2 the buttermilk, then another 1/3 of the flour, then the rest of the buttermilk, and then the rest of the flour.) Scrape the sides of the bowl as necessary during this process.

Toss the rhubarb with the remaining flour and gently fold two-thirds of the fruit into the batter. Spread the batter in the prepared pan. Place the rest of the rhubarb on top of the batter, lightly pressing it into the batter.

Bake for 30 minutes, then rotate the pan 180 degrees and bake for another 30 minutes, or until the cake is golden brown and tests done (either with a cake tester or springs back when lightly touched). Remove from oven and let cool in the pan on a wire rack for 30 minutes. (This may or may not feel like the longest 30 minutes ever…) After 30 minutes, flip the cake out of the pan and onto a serving plate.

While the cake is cooling, make the glaze. Whisk the butter, powdered sugar and lemon juice together. If the glaze looks too thin, whisk in extra powdered sugar, a tablespoon at a time, until it’s as thick as you’d like. Drizzle the glaze over the cooled cake.

Enjoy!

From Honey & Jam, originally from Rustic Fruit Desserts

Click here for a printable version.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2013 in Cakes & Frostings, Dessert

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Cake. With Rhubarb. And Lemon.

  1. Kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    June 23, 2013 at 8:22 pm

    Beth,
    That looks amazing, and I’m always happy to see a pretty cake!
    My daughter baked a Bundt cake today and it was so cute to see her set the timer for how long to cool the cake in the pan. Of course her ice flowed all over the counter top (maybe she doubled the recipe?) and there was much chocolate to clean up . . . darn.
    I’m going to have to befriend a rhubarb grower, because I’m really becoming enamored with rhubarb desserts from all the photos!

     
    • Beth

      June 24, 2013 at 9:09 pm

      Haha, you should have seen the icing that overflowed off this cake! Thankfully, I’d put some waxed paper down on the counter beneath the cooling rack. So, your daughter isn’t alone in the overflowing-icing boat. 🙂

       
  2. Bethany

    June 24, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    I know some people who sure enjoyed that cake! 🙂 Thanks, Beth!

     
    • Beth

      June 24, 2013 at 8:36 pm

      You’re welcome! Thanks for giving me an excuse to bake! 🙂

       
  3. Tammy

    June 29, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    I had to skate quickly past that photo as I’m juicing this weekend and don’t need a craving. I love the rhubarb lemon combo.

     

Leave a Reply

 
