RSS

Catching up… CSA Weeks 2 & 3

07 Jul

Holy slacker blogger, Batman!

Life has been crazy here the last few weeks. Between a packed social schedule, an unexpected whirlwind trip to Ohio, and a long-awaited camping trip, I haven’t written a thing. With as busy as life has been lately, I’m thankful that our CSA keeps on delivering. 🙂 It cuts down on my grocery list dramatically, which means that I have to spend less time running errands. And we all know that’s a good thing.

So… here’s what we received during week two:

CSA2013 week 2

Another head of lettuce, half a pound of sugar snap peas, a pound of asparagus, a quart of strawberries and a kohlrabi. We snacked on the sugar snaps, and I roasted the asparagus (which is our favorite way to enjoy it). I used about half of the strawberries in a strawberry bruschetta. (I did sub cream cheese for the goat cheese, as I’m still trying to learn to like goat cheese.) We’re still working our way through the lettuce, and the kohlrabi.

And here’s week three:

CSA2013 week 3

That’s a pound and a half of sugar snaps, a bag of spring mix, some kale and three summer squash.

As crazy as it sounds, I think I’m most excited about the summer squash. Why, you ask? Because that means that fritters are on this week’s menu. And goodness knows we love our fritters. Fritters and a salad for dinner tomorrow night. Yes. 😀 I’m sure that the kale will become kale chips sometime this week as well.

In addition to being behind on my writing, I’m also waaaaaaaaaay behind on my reading as well. Google Reader’s demise doesn’t help either, as I’m trying to decide if I’m sticking with This Old Reader or Feedly, and until I get that straightened out, it’s a lot more work to catch up on all of my blog reading. I am going to head over to In Her Chucks and check out What’s In the Box though. You should too. 🙂

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Catching up… CSA Weeks 2 & 3

  1. Kirsten

    July 7, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    Beth,
    Your CSA has the same pretty speckled lettuce ours does (and I waved when you were in Ohio, that crazy lady was me). I was weirdly pleased to see eggplant this past week–and made good use of it (pizza to follow).
    Glad you’re back!

     
    • Beth

      July 8, 2013 at 9:01 pm

      Oooh, I will be watching for your pizza, since I’m sure we’ll get eggplant at some point this summer! And I’ll be sure to wave back in a couple weeks… we’re heading back for a family wedding!

       
  2. Tammy

    July 8, 2013 at 6:57 am

    Wow, it’s odd how produce varies across the country. It would be really late for asparagus here.

     
    • Beth

      July 8, 2013 at 8:59 pm

      I know what you mean! Everything here is about 3 weeks later than things were in Ohio, where I grew up.

       
  3. Lucy

    July 8, 2013 at 11:22 am

    Nice! I have asparagus envy

     
  4. inherchucks

    July 10, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    Like Lucy, I totally have asparagus envy…looks lovely!

    Thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
