RSS

Hello Summer! CSA Week 4

12 Jul

No doubt about it, summer is here! (As if the constant sunshine and 80 degree temps weren’t enough to clue you in… we’re having a beautiful summer so far. Sorry to everyone in Ohio who’s feeling a little soggy lately. Or everyone broiling in the southwest. Come to Wisconsin. You’ll like it here.)

This week’s CSA was the most bountiful by far, and I was beyond excited about our goodies.

CSA2013 week 4

You’re looking at a pound of green beans, a pound of sugar snap peas, a pound of regular peas, three cucumbers, two summer squash, two zucchini, a head of lettuce and a bundle of rhubarb. And I thought rhubarb was done for the season! (Makes me wonder if I should still be picking from my rhubarb plants.)

As you can see, more salad is on the menu for us, and I’m going to turn the cucumbers into quick pickles – hopefully I’ll get around to sharing that recipe this year!

I don’t have any specific plans for the peas and beans yet. Peas are one of Andy’s favorites, and I LOVE LOVE LOVE green beans, so we may enjoy them just as they are, in their pure, unadulterated greatness.

I tried to make a cold zucchini salad with the two zucchini, and it was not well received. Andy’s words were, “Don’t you make fritters out of zucchini? You have a rock star, why try something else?” So we’re going to attempt to make lemonade out of lemons – or fritters out of salad, in this case. I’ll drain off the liquid from the leftover salad, chop the ribbons into slivers, add an egg and some flour and then try to fry them up! The summer squash will probably get fritterized as well. 🙂

I have no idea how I’m going to use the rhubarb yet… especially since I wasn’t expecting it at all! It’s like the snow day of our produce box – an unexpected but totally appreciated bonus!

CSA2013 week 4 Bird

Fun with produce! Heehee… there’s a bird in my peas!

I’m sharing this post with the friendly, produce-loving people at the What’s in the Box? party at In Her Chucks. Check it out!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Hello Summer! CSA Week 4

  1. Kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    July 13, 2013 at 7:41 am

    Beth,
    What a gorgeous haul! I did a little squash “lemons out of lemonade” last week myself. I had a large zucchini and 2 small pattypan squash, and I sliced/breaded/baked them. Delicious! However, I am the only person in the house who really will eat them, so the rest got packed up in the fridge. Next time I threw the slices on the grill and blackened them, served alongside chicken–this time the kids ate a bit. Still more leftovers (at this point mind you they were sliced/breaded/baked/grilled) so I chopped them up and added to hot pasta. Finally they all got eaten!
    I’m looking forward to green beans, because I have a copy of Carrie’s Experimental Kitchen and she’s got a tasty-looking green bean recipe in it that I want to try.
    Thanks!

     
  2. inherchucks

    July 17, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    Lovely haul beth 🙂 can’t believe you got all those peas/beans! Enjoy.

    Thanks for sharing and linking up…

     

Leave a Reply

 
