RSS

The Power of Feta (and Bacon)

19 Jul

This was one of those meals that I wasn’t too excited about at first. I’m usually not a big egg eater – I prefer to eat my eggs in ice cream, cake and cookies. I made it for two reasons: Andy loves breakfast for dinner, especially eggs, and I really enjoy feta cheese. Plus, it did come from my new favorite cookbook. I guess that’s three reasons.

The first time I made it, it took a LOT longer than I had anticipated. (Operator error here. It helps if you read the ENTIRE recipe before jumping in. Especially when you start cooking at 8 pm. Details.) Maybe it was the fact that we were eating at 9pm, maybe it was the feta talking. Either way, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked it. Even so, I figured that eggs wouldn’t reheat the greatest and sent most of the leftovers to work with Andy and took something else from the fridge. When I finally had some of the leftovers, I was (again) surprised by how much I liked them.

Lesson learned. You can’t go wrong with potatoes, feta and bacon.

I’ve also made this with ham, on a day when I was out of bacon. It’s good with ham, but let’s face it… everything is better with bacon. (Yes, everything. Even cheesecake.)

And now I have a new favorite breakfast for dinner dish. Because, let’s face it. Now that I know it needs nearly 40 minutes in the oven, I’m probably not getting up early enough to make this on a Saturday morning. 😀

Frittata

Potato, Scallion and Bacon Frittata with Feta

1 3/4 lbs. potatoes
1/4 lb. bacon, preferably thick-cut
olive oil, for the pan
3-4 scallions
3 ounces feta cheese, crumbled
6 eggs
2 tablespoons milk
salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Brush a tablespoon or two of olive oil on to a large baking sheet.

Peel the potatoes and slice them in half length-wise, then slice each half into semi-circles that are between 1/4″ and 1/2″ thick. (My slices are never even. Some are thinner than 1/4″; some are thicker. It all works out though.) Spread the potato slices on the prepared baking sheet and season with salt and pepper. Bake for 30 minutes, flipping them once at the halfway point. Remove from oven and set aside to cool slightly. Keep the oven on.

Line the baking sheet with foil, and place the bacon strips on the sheet. Bake for 10-20 minutes, or until bacon is crispy. Remove from oven and allow to cool. (Alternatively, you can cook the bacon on the stovetop, but I love the oven method because there’s less mess.) Drain one tablespoon of bacon drippings into a cast-iron (or other oven-safe) skillet and combine with a little (probably less than a tablespoon) olive oil. Heat the pan over medium heat and swirl the oil around the warm pan, being sure to coat the sides. Remove from heat once the oil coats the pan.

Meanwhile, thinly slice the scallions and crumble the bacon. Scatter the potatoes in the bottom of the skillet, then sprinkle the bacon and scallions on top of the potatoes. Sprinkle the feta cheese all over the top of the potato/bacon/scallion mixture.

In a medium bowl, whisk the eggs together with the milk, a pinch of salt and some black pepper. Pour the egg mixture into the skillet. Cover with foil and bake for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes, remove the foil and bake for another 10-15 minutes, or until the eggs are done and the top is nicely browned. Slice in wedges and serve immediately.

From the Smitten Kitchen Cookbook

Click here for a printable version

 
9 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2013 in Breakfast

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “The Power of Feta (and Bacon)

  1. Jen

    July 19, 2013 at 10:16 am

    Beth, this looks great! I agree that I love breakfast for dinner…partially because then I can still sleep in 😉

     
  2. Kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    July 22, 2013 at 11:12 am

    Julie,
    I bet the flavors are amazing, even if it’s time consuming and ends up with a pile of pans (I’m reading the recipe trying to decrease the number of dishes to wash without success). When I get over my lemon feta dip obsession I’ll use some farm share potatoes in this–our farmers just got a new potato digger and they are having a good time with the semi-automated version of potato harvest.
    Thanks!

     
  3. Jodie

    August 12, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    Why is everyone so in love with using aluminum foil. It leaves aluminum residue in the food. That can lead to dementia. Instead why not slice the bacon strips into 1/4 to 1/2 ” pieces and cook on top of the stove in the same cast iron pan you plan to cook the frittata in? Then when ready to bake, cover with the pan’s cast iron lid? The recipe sounds yummy, will have to try it. tysm.

     
    • Beth

      August 12, 2013 at 4:28 pm

      Well, the original recipe in the cookbook did call for cooking the bacon on the stovetop in the skillet, so you definitely could. I just find that I burn the bacon and splatter grease all over the kitchen when I do it that way, so I’m living on the edge and using the foil method. 😀 And my cast iron skillet doesn’t have a lid, unfortunately.

      I hope you enjoy the frittata!

       

Leave a Reply

 
