RSS

CSA Week #5

23 Jul

Wow, week five of our CSA already – we’re 1/4 of the way done for the year. This summer is flying by!

CSA2013 week 5

That said, I’m glad we still have several weeks left because this girl is really hoping for some sweet corn and fresh tomatoes soon! (The tomatoes in our garden are still green.) Until then, I’m going to make good use out of all these green veggies! This past week, we received another head of lettuce, a head of cauliflower, some broccoli, a summer squash and a zucchini, a pound of beans, a pound of sugar snap peas and some garlic scapes.

I have to admit, I was pretty pumped about the garlic scapes. I’ll either make garlic scape pesto or garlic scape bean dip with them. Andy was (as always) most excited about the sugar snap peas. In fact, he ate about half a pound of them before I was even able to take the picture. We enjoyed the squash and zucchini for dinner last night (in fritter form, of course). And the broccoli is adding some nice crunch to our lunches this week.

I feel like we’re doing a pretty good job of eating/using up all of the veggies we’ve received so far, but I also feel like I’m not doing anything new, exciting or different with the veggies either.  I do have some ideas in mind for when the peppers and sweet corn start coming in, but for now, our weekly menu has a lot of salads.

I’m also waiting for our annual fruit delivery. When that happens, we’ll be inundated with cherries, peaches and blueberries. And then I plan on making this, this and this, along with peach freezer jam, blueberry muffins, and this cherry pie/tart thing that’s been calling my name ever since this came in to my life. 🙂

I’m sharing this post with the “What’s in the Box?” link party over at In Her Chucks! Check it out!

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “CSA Week #5

  1. The Spicy Simmer (Jenny)

    July 23, 2013 at 8:34 am

    Make garlic scape pesto! You won’t be disappointed.

     
  2. Lucy

    July 25, 2013 at 4:04 pm

    Beth- this looks so similar to what I’m getting here in Seattle. Thanks for sharing!

     
  3. inherchucks

    July 25, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    I am loving all the green…and the various textures!

    Thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

     
  4. Kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    July 27, 2013 at 11:13 am

    Beth,
    I made garlic scape pesto (and 4 variations, based on what else I got in the share) for the first time this year and I don’t think I’ll stir fry a scape ever again. I’ve got plenty put up in the freezer for pizza sauces, hummus, and pasta dishes. It’s very versatile!

     

Leave a Reply

 
