RSS

CSA Week #9 & What We’re Eating 8/19-8/23

18 Aug

What a week! I suppose I should say what a month – I’m still not sure where the time is going. How on earth is it the third week of August already? The summer is almost over, and we didn’t get to do enough of the “fun” things on our summer to-do list.

Thankfully, there’s still several weeks of our CSA left, so not ALL good things are coming to an end right now. (And if I’m being honest, fall really is my favorite season, so I won’t be too sad to see it arrive. Especially because fall brings football. And crisp air. And – most importantly – VACATION. Two weeks off with my favorite person. Yay.) Until then, though… let’s talk about summer produce.

This was another good week for our CSA. More sweet corn (which we demolished almost immediately – shocker). Cherry tomatoes. A green pepper. BEETS! (YAY! I love beets.) And, of course, more summer squash and cucumbers. (How I wish Andy liked tzatziki.)

CSA2013 week 9

I sauteed the beet greens with some Swiss chard from our garden and used the greens as a side for our zucchini fritters last week. Everything else is destined for a dinner sometime this week.

Garden update: Our green beans are going like gangbusters now! We picked 3 1/4 lbs. of beans the other night, and it looks like we’ll get about that many again today. Also – THE TOMATOES ARE STARING TO RIPEN. Hallelujah.

I *thought* our blackberries were ripe too, though. Turns out that looks can be deceiving, as I picked eight beautiful berries that appeared to be PERFECT. Let’s just say that they were tarter than the strongest Warheads. Andy then informed me that you have to wait until the berries just about fall off the bush before they’re ripe AND sweet. Bummer.

The beets are looking a little sketchy, which makes me consider giving up on them next year. Andy’s carrots look fantastic though – hopefully the carrots look as good as the tops. (Side note: are carrot tops edible like beet tops?!) Our Swiss chard came in kind of spotty; I’m not sure if the shade from the pole beans stunted them, or if this variety just doesn’t have the germination rate that last year’s version did. I’m a little bummed about that, since Swiss chard is my favorite green.

Even though it’s not our garden, I’ll share anyway: Our wonderful neighbors gave us two more cucumbers (THESE THINGS ARE TAKING OVER MY FRIDGE!) and a zucchini. Gotta love summer. 🙂

And, just to prove that I’m still cooking, here’s what we’re planning on eating this week:

Monday 8/19 – Unstuffed shell bake, green beans, with peach blueberry pie. Oh, and maybe some cucumbers. I seem to have a few lying around. It’s going to be a good Monday. 😀
Tuesday 8/20 – Thai chicken tacos (This is an attempt to use our cucumbers, and I’m going to make the slaw out of kohlrabi instead of cabbage, since that’s what I have in the fridge.) 
Wednesday 8/21 – Gnocchi with summer squash/zucchini and feta (I made Deb’s gnocchi a couple weeks ago and froze half of it for a quick dinner.) 
Thursday 8/22 – Steak and peach kabobs, cucumbers and lemon-tomato-basil orzo
Friday 8/23 – Dinner with our friends Kevin and Lacey! Yay for Friday nights with friends. 🙂

Want to see more veggies and recipes using them? You know you do! 😀 Head on over to the “What’s in the Box?” link party at In Her Chucks!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “CSA Week #9 & What We’re Eating 8/19-8/23

  1. Jodie Ross

    August 19, 2013 at 3:43 pm

    I looked at the recipe for the un-stuffed shell bake. That recipe is a disaster as far as nutrition goes, I would add a very large diced onion, say 6 to 8 cloves of minced garlic, and a cup or so of diced celery to the meat mixture or to the pan after the meat is cooked and sweat the veggies good. I would also saute 8 oz. of sliced mushrooms and wilt 10oz of baby organic spinach and add that to the white sauce before adding the pasta to it. Then served with a huge green salad that might make an ok meal. A lot of fat though.

     
    • Beth

      August 19, 2013 at 4:02 pm

      Yep – I know it’s not the healthiest, but it’s not like we eat it every night (or even every week or month). And I always add onion, garlic, oregano, basil and extra pepper, along with spinach or Swiss chard when I have it. It’s an easy meal for busy nights.

       
  2. Kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    August 19, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    Beth,
    I truly never thought I’d say I’m jealous of beet greens, but there you have it. I’m jealous of your beet greens. I love them simply sauteed with a fried egg over top. Heaven. I’d have to say 2013 is the year I discovered I love beet greens.
    Your haul looks wonderful, as do your plans for them. Enjoy!

     
    • Beth

      August 20, 2013 at 6:11 am

      It took me a while to come around to beet greens, but I’m with you now! Sauteed greens = greatness. 🙂

       
  3. inherchucks

    August 21, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    Sounds like a great week of eats!

    Thanks for sharing and linking up 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
