RSS

The Benefits of a Well-Stocked Pantry

21 Oct

I do my best to “shop the perimeter” at the grocery store. I don’t load the cart up with chips, pop, and frozen dinners. We eat our veggies. In fact, if people are judging me based on what’s in my grocery cart, they’re probably thinking, “Someone call Hoarders; this woman has gone crazy in the cream cheese section,” rather than, “lay off the chips, lady.” 

(What?! Bricks of cream cheese for $1 each? This girl is stocking up; you never know when a cheesecake emergency will strike. And by emergency, I mean, “It’s been a while since I made cheesecake, and I am really jonesing for one right about now.” Ahem.) 😀 

There are exceptions to every rule though. And at our house, these exceptions live in a Rubbermaid tub on the pantry shelf, in between the 10 bags of sugar (also on sale, I might add. Christmas baking is coming!) and the extra jars I bought when I organized my spice cupboard. What kind of exceptions, you ask?

Reese’s Cups
Hershey Kisses
M&Ms
Oreos 

It’s important to have a well-stocked pantry, you know. That way, you can make whatever you want, whenever the mood strikes. And by “whatever you want,” I mean cookies and cream ice cream. And by “whenever you want,” I mean now. Of course. 😀

Cookies & Cream Ice Cream

Psst… if you look closely, you’ll notice that I did NOT use actual Oreos for the recipe. This girl is A-OK with generic chocolate sandwich cookies.

Cookies and Cream Ice Cream

5 egg yolks (freeze the whites and save them for buttercream!)
1 cup half-and-half
2 cups heavy cream, divided
3/4 cup sugar
pinch of salt
1 tablespoon vanilla extract (I never measure. I just pour till it looks smells good.) 
20 oreos, coarsely chopped

In a medium saucepan, stir the sugar, salt, half and half, and one cup of cream together over medium heat. Heat until sugar is dissolved and mixture is warm and steamy (but not simmering or boiling). Remove from heat.

Meanwhile, pour the remaining cream in a large bowl and set a fine mesh strainer over the top. Set aside.

Whisk the egg yolks together in a medium bowl. (I like to use my two-cup Pyrex measuring cup for this step, as it makes for an easy transfer back into the pan.) Gradually pour the warm cream into the egg yolks, whisking constantly to avoid cooking them. Return the egg mixture to your saucepan and cook it over medium heat, stirring constantly. When the mixture has thickened and coats the back of a metal spoon (right around the 170-175 degree mark, for those of you with thermometers), remove it from the heat.

Pour the cooked custard through the fine mesh strainer and into the cream. Stir to combine, then add vanilla. Thoroughly chill the mixture (either in the fridge or over an ice bath). When the ice cream base is cold (this will take at least a couple hours in the fridge), freeze it in an ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s directions.

After you have churned the ice cream, fold in the chopped oreos. Freeze until firm.

Adapted from Annie’s Eats, who adapted the vanilla base from David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop and the cookies and cream from Pennies on a Platter.

Click here for a printable version!

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2013 in Dessert, Ice Cream

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “The Benefits of a Well-Stocked Pantry

  1. Kirsten

    October 30, 2013 at 1:34 pm

    Beth, I so did not expect the twist at the end of your well-stocked pantry essay. I like it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
