RSS

Good Morning Muffins

28 Dec

I’ve been on a muffin kick lately. Blueberry muffins. Pumpkin muffins (I added chocolate chips). Apple cider chocolate cranberry muffins.

Yep, you read that right. Apple cider. With chocolate. In muffins. Weird, right? (No weirder than some other things I’ve tried.) Who would have thought to put apple cider in muffins?! Not me, that’s for sure. But Kirsten at Farm Fresh Feasts makes a lot of muffins, so I figured she knows what she’s doing. And since apple cider is one of my favorite things, I knew I had to give them a try. Of course, I saw this recipe after apple cider season ended, which meant they went on the back burner for a few months.

Thankfully, cider season rolled around again, so I dug through my saved recipes and gave this one a whirl. My only changes were to use dried cranberries instead of cherries and regular chocolate chips instead of mini ones (all based on what was in my cupboard at the time). I thought about adding some diced apple pieces as well, but chose not to since I threw these together before work one morning and didn’t have time for extra peeling/chopping.

I love the fact that these are one-bowl muffins. And as long as you remember to soak the oats the night before, you can have fresh muffins by the time you leave for work in the morning. (Seriously… mix them up, bake them while you shower/prep for the day and then snag one – or three, whatever floats your boat – on your way out the door.) 

AppleCiderMuffins

Apple Cider Muffins with Cranberries & Chocolate Chips

1 cup old-fashioned oats
1 cup apple cider
1/2 cup dried cranberries
1 egg
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/4 cup whole wheat flour (I used whole wheat pastry flour)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup chocolate chips

In a large bowl, combine oats, cranberries and cider. Let mixture soak until oats are well-hydrated (I soaked mine overnight). 

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line muffin tins with paper liners and set aside.

Once oats are thoroughly soaked, whisk the oil, brown sugar, egg and vanilla into the oat mixture. Make a well in the middle of the wet ingredients, and then pour the dry ingredients into the well. Stir until the mixture is almost combined, then add the chocolate chips. Give the mixture another stir or two to fully combine things.

Evenly divide the batter between the prepared muffin cups. (I ended up filling 13 muffin cups! The frustration!) Bake for 15 minutes, or until tops are golden and muffins test done with a toothpick. Remove from pans and enjoy.

From Farm Fresh Feasts

Click here for a printable version.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2013 in Breads, Muffins & Rolls

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Good Morning Muffins

  1. Charisma

    December 29, 2013 at 7:27 am

    Mmm these look great, I’ve been going through a phase of brunch muffins lately so will have to give these a shot… Maybe with some nuts!

     
  2. Kirsten

    January 16, 2014 at 1:29 pm

    Beth,
    I’m so glad you enjoyed them! I rarely eat muffins out, but I was meeting a friend for coffee at my favorite grocery store and the bakery there had Better Morning Muffins–with carrots and nuts and raisins and wouldn’t you know it, I got fresh inspiration. Love it when that happens.

     

Leave a Reply

 
