RSS

Frozen Cranberry Love

21 Jan

If you saw my Thanksgiving idea list, you may have noticed that I’ve got a thing for cranberries right now. There were two different cranberry breads, two cranberry sauces and one cranberry dessert. And if I’m being honest, I’ve always had a thing for cranberries. Juices, sauces, drinks… there’s just something about that sweet-tart flavor that gets me every time.

I needed a treat for our New Year’s Eve celebration this year, and since I had to work during the day, soft pretzels weren’t an option. Thankfully, this sorbet is as easy to make as it is to eat. I mixed it up before work and chilled it in the fridge during the day. Then, Andy threw it in the ice cream maker when he got home from work. By the time I pulled in the driveway, there was a container of sorbet chilling in the snowbank by the back door. (What? Our freezer is full, and it was definitely cold enough outside!) 

The original recipe wants you to strain the sorbet mixture through a fine mesh strainer before chilling, but I skipped that step. My immersion blender did a good job of pulverizing most of the cranberry skins, and I didn’t have time to fuss with that step. I also skipped the Cointreau/Grand Marnier because I don’t have any on hand and wasn’t going to buy a bottle for one measly tablespoon.

All in all, this was a success. Andy says that it doesn’t hold a candle to his favorite ice cream, but it’s worth making. Especially if you’ve got a cranberry habit freezer full of cranberries to use up. 😉

CranberrySorbet

Cranberry Sorbet

1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup water
12 ounces fresh cranberries (I used mine straight from the freezer.) 
pinch of salt
1/2 cup orange juice
1 tablespoon Cointreau or Grand Marnier liquor (like I said before, I skipped this.) 

Place the water and sugar in a medium saucepan and cook over medium heat until sugar is dissolved, stirring occasionally.

Add the cranberries and salt to the sugar mixture, and bring the mixture to a low boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low, cover the saucepan and allow the cranberries to cook until soft, about 10 minutes or so. (Since my cranberries were frozen, it took a little longer for them to soften.) 

Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the orange juice. Using an immersion blender (or a regular blender, if you’d like), puree the sorbet mixture until it’s completely smooth. If desired, strain the mixture through a fine mesh strainer into a bowl before chilling in the refrigerator.

Once the mixture has thoroughly chilled, churn the sorbet in an ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s directions. Store the churned sorbet in an airtight container in the freezer (or in a snowbank).

From David Lebovitz, as seen on Brown Eyed Baker

Click here for a printable version.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 21, 2014 in Dessert, Ice Cream

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Frozen Cranberry Love

  1. Kirsten

    January 27, 2014 at 12:50 pm

    Beth, I bought a giant bag of cranberries right around Christmas which went straight to the freezer. I will turn it into stuff at some point–and this looks so delicious. The cranberry/orange combination calls to me.

     

Leave a Reply

 
