RSS

Sunshine in a Bowl

05 Apr

I’m almost afraid to say it, but I think spring may finally be making its way to Wisconsin! Just this morning, I discovered our daffodils poking up out of the ground, and it even looks like our garlic experiment is working out! (I will be thrilled if the garlic cloves we tucked into the garden last fall actually grow into full heads of their own!) I even went barefoot (in the driveway) today – something that hasn’t happened since, oh, probably September.

After months of snow and polar-vortex temperatures, any sign of spring is more than welcome. Even if that sign is just a bowl full of bright, happy mango chunks. I made this salsa a few weeks ago, when we were still covered in snow and feeling insanely jealous of everyone who was planning trips for spring break. It’s ridiculously easy – chop, mix, eat. We enjoyed it on our favorite pork chops, and it took our rice from average to “I’ll have some more of that.” And now that I think about it, I’m sure this would be equally tasty with grilled fish, shrimp or chicken as well. Things to keep in mind now that our grill isn’t covered by several feet of snow. 🙂

MangoSalsa2

 

Editor’s Note: I’m guessing on the measurements here, since I made this up on the fly and didn’t bother getting out the measuring cups. Feel free to add more (or less) or something as it suits you! 

Simple Mango Salsa

1 mango, diced small
1/3 cup diced green pepper
3 green onions, thinly sliced
1 1/2 tablespoons finely minced jalapeno pepper, seeds removed if you don’t like too much heat
juice of one lime
small handful of cilantro, chopped
coarse salt

In a small bowl, combine the mango, green pepper, jalapeno and onions. Add the lime juice and stir until the ingredients are fully coated. Add the cilantro and season to taste with salt.

Serve over pork chops, chicken, fish or rice. Store leftover salsa in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

A Beth’s Blue Plate Original

Click here for a printable version.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2014 in Appetizer

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Sunshine in a Bowl

  1. Kirsten

    June 7, 2014 at 2:51 pm

    Beth,
    This looks lovely–how fresh and perfect for sunny weather. I was eyeing the container of mango at Costco yesterday and didn’t get it–but now I think I’ll hit that next time I’m there. Nothing better than NOT having to peel a mango and have ready made ways to enjoy it.
    Thanks!

     
    • Beth

      June 14, 2014 at 3:29 pm

      peeled mango? Why did I not think of that?? I hate peeling it – I feel like I waste a ton of the fruit. I will keep my eyes open at the store next time!

       

Leave a Reply

 
