RSS

Rhubarb: Not Just For Pie

14 Jun

Let’s start by admitting that this recipe is a little weird. For starters, it’s an ice cream recipe that uses the oven and doesn’t require an ice cream maker. And when was the last time you heard of a rhubarb ice cream?

When I first imagined rhubarb ice cream, I pictured a creamy, vanilla custard base with a rhubarb swirl running through it. And while I may get around to experimenting with that idea, this was the first recipe I found, so I decided to run with it. Roasting the rhubarb makes it soft and sweet, and even though there’s a lot of waiting with this recipe, it’s really easy to put together. I’m talking Sunday-afternoon easy. Pretty sure I made this in between naps a few weekends ago. (What? Rainy afternoons + golf on TV = naptime for me.) 

I reduced the sugar a bit, since I like my rhubarb treats to be more on the tart side of things. I also forgot to add the lemon juice (oops!) when I made this, but we never missed it. The recipe calls for freezing the mixture in a pan and stirring it occasionally, instead of using an ice cream maker. And while I was tempted to get out my ice cream maker anyway, I decided against it, thinking that the churning might deflate the whipped cream in the mixture.

So, yet again, we have found that weird is good. And since my rhubarb plants are still going strong (thank you, cooler-than-average spring), I think there’s room for a little more weirdness in our lives. 🙂

RhubarbIceCream

Rhubarb Ice Cream

3 cups sliced rhubarb
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 cup heavy whipping cream

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Toss the rhubarb with the sugar and spread in a 9″ x 13″ baking pan. Cover the pan tightly with aluminum foil. Bake until the rhubarb is tender, about 30 minutes, stirring about halfway through the baking time. Remove from the oven and let cool slightly.

Place the rhubarb and all of its juices in a large bowl and, using an immersion blender, puree the rhubarb until smooth. (You could also use a regular blender, but I like my immersion blender better.) Chill the rhubarb mixture in the refrigerator until it is completely cold.

When the rhubarb is cold, whip the cream until stiff peaks form. (I used my KA mixer for this, but you could achieve the same results with a hand mixer, I think.) Gently fold the whipped cream into the chilled rhubarb mixture. Transfer to a 8″ x 8″ freezer-safe pan and cover the mixture. Freeze for an hour, gently stirring stirring the mixture every 15 minutes or so. After the first hour, allow the mixture to freeze until completely firm, or overnight.

Adapted from Taste of Home, June/July 2014

Click here for a printable version.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2014 in Dessert, Ice Cream

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Rhubarb: Not Just For Pie

Leave a Reply

 
