RSS

CSA 2014: Week 2

29 Jun

Is it just me, or does summer seem to be flying by at a ridiculously fast pace?? June is practically done, and I have a feeling that things are only going to speed up from here. Thankfully, there are still 18 more weeks of CSA goodness left.

CSA2014 week 2

This week’s share included:

1 lb. asparagus
1 pint strawberries
1 1/2 lbs. sugar snap peas
1 bunch beet greens
1 head of lettuce
1 bunch of pea tendrils
2 zucchini

First, let’s talk about what we’ve already enjoyed. 🙂 You may have noticed the beet greens hanging out in this picture. I simply sauteed them with butter and a little chicken broth. Next time though, I think I’ll try this idea. The strawberries didn’t make their way into anything besides our mouths. As for the zucchini, well, there was really only one option for them. FRITTERS!! Yes, I was that excited.

I will be roasting or grilling the asparagus this week, and I plan on making stir fry with some of the peas and the tendrils. As for the lettuce, well, we’re on a salad kick. Steak salads, grilled chicken salads… you get the picture. I still have the radishes from last week’s share too. Maybe I should start adding them to our salads. Although… I just checked out Kirsten’s blog (a great resource for CSA veggies!) and I see that she has a radish pizza. I think we’ll have that for dinner this week.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 29, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “CSA 2014: Week 2

  1. Kirsten

    June 29, 2014 at 12:41 pm

    Beth,
    You make my heart sing!
    We have radishes leftover in the crisper, and I had the kids chop a couple up and add to my Beef and Bok Choy Pie last night. [This is the coolest thing–I’m having the kids follow my recipes to test out how I’ve written them, they get cooking skills, I get fed!]
    I’m hoping for summer squash soon, because my spouse and I love zucchini fritters and with him gone all last summer I never made any just for me.
    Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
