RSS

CSA 2014: Week 15 & 16

01 Oct

Look! Only two weeks worth of veggies this time. I’m practically caught up. Ha!

Week 15: I was pretty pumped – leeks AND sweet corn? I had a hard time deciding what to do with the leeks, but I finally decided on these leek toasts. (In case you’re wondering, they’re ideal football food – portable, not too messy and good fresh out of the oven or at room temperature. We enjoyed them while the Cowboys embarrassed the Saints Sunday night.) We ended up just eating the sweet corn right off the cob, with butter and salt. Why mess with a good thing?

We also receive loads of cherry tomatoes, potatoes, sweet peppers, green beans, celery and a few sprigs of fresh parsley. The puzzling item of the week – the 3/4 of a pound of serrano peppers. I have NO idea what to do with all of them. Any ideas? My current plan is to deseed them, then chop and freeze them for use in chili, etc. over the winter. However… that might be a lifetime supply of hot peppers for me!

CSA2014 week 15

Week 16: Holy huge cabbage, AGAIN. This one clocked in at 7 pounds, 10 ounces. I need cabbage suggestions… we can only eat so much cabbage and noodles and coleslaw. Any ideas?? We also have more tomatillos, fresh greens, zucchini, sweet peppers, banana peppers, green beans, two acorn squash and more cherry tomatoes. I am really looking forward to making stuffed squash with the acorn squash. It’s one of our favorite fall dinners. I will probably pickle the banana peppers, unless I can talk Andy into my favorite pizza combination – pepperoni, pineapple and banana peppers.

CSA2014 week 16

And there you have it! We have a few more weeks left in our CSA, so I plan to enjoy every bit of it before the inevitable (a.k.a. winter) happens.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 1, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “CSA 2014: Week 15 & 16

  1. The Spicy Simmer (Jenny)

    October 2, 2014 at 5:06 am

    I have a similar post hopefully later today that will combine two weeks worth of CSA shares. I’m also excruciatingly behind on all of my blogging. It’s sad.

     

Leave a Reply

 
