RSS

CSA 2014: Week 17

12 Oct

The end is near! Week 18 will be our last “regular season” pick up. (We’ll get one final “late season” share a few weeks after that.) I feel like this week’s share was a nice mix of summer and fall produce. We’re still getting green beans, peppers and tomatoes, but we also have sweet potatoes, kale and squash. I guess you could say it’s the best of both worlds. 🙂

CSA2014 week 17

Week 17: 

1 bunch of kale
1 bag of mixed salad greens (I have a funny story about those for you…) 
1 bunch of radishes
2 kohlrabi
1/2 lb. of green beans
1 buttercup squash (Any ideas on this one? I was told that it’s similar to butternut, but drier.) 
2 eggplants
6 sweet peppers
sweet potatoes

I’m not sure what I’ll do with everything. Thankfully, most of it keeps fairly well. I have the green beans earmarked for tomorrow’s dinner, and I’ve been adding pepper slices to my lunch every day. I was able to use the salad greens for a dinner with friends, which brings me to my funny story…

After bringing home our produce last week, I stored it in the fridge and went about my business. Friday night, after work, I rinsed the salad greens, spun them dry, and tossed them into a bowl with some cherry tomatoes and Parmesan cheese, and then headed out the door. We were enjoying our dinner, when I looked down at my plate and noticed a GIANT DADDY LONG LEG spider in my salad. EW. (Side note: I hate spiders. I tell Andy all the time that I got married just so I wouldn’t have to deal with the creatures. Anyway…) The spider wasn’t moving, so I discretely flipped it off my plate, figuring I could pick it up in a napkin after dinner. Well, after 15 minutes or so, the spider gets up and STARTS MOVING across the table, where it was noticed by my friend’s five-year-old son. I grabbed his napkin, and using it AND my water glass, smashed the thing. Which obviously brought attention to the situation, and I had to admit that I brought a salad with a bug in it. I bet they ask me to bring dessert next time. 😉

Such are the risks of getting produce from a farm, rather than the grocery store. Sometimes it comes with wildlife.

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “CSA 2014: Week 17

  1. Grandma Baldwin

    October 12, 2014 at 8:46 pm

    Beth you could get that spider from the grocery store too. You just have to be more careful when you clean your lettuce. I always wash one leaf at a time.Can’t be too careful especially when you get my age and can’t see too well. Ha! Grandpa’s lettuce sometimes get white flies on them and then you sometimes have to wash it twice. Our fresh lettuce tastes better than the stores. Ha! Love!

     
    • Beth

      October 14, 2014 at 5:56 am

      Ha! Good to know. So much for that “quick spin” to get the stuff clean. 🙂 love you too!

       
  2. Kirsten

    October 13, 2014 at 5:18 am

    Beth,
    We are also getting an interesting mix of summer and fall here–peppers and winter squash, and some late tomatoes are looking lovely as well. I’ve got a couple of buttercup squash recipes in my recipe index–a slow cooker curry and something else that escapes me now. Your buttercup is the prettiest I’ve ever seen–mine have all been much smaller and . . . . wizened.
    I’m laughing about the spider. I’ve rinsed a cricket down the drain, and we had caterpillars in our salad once. At least it was just at home. Now my spouse asks if the salad is ‘caterpillar free’!

     
    • Beth

      October 14, 2014 at 6:00 am

      Caterpillar free, that’s great! I will have to check out your recipe index for the squash – I was there looking at kohlrabi recipes the other day! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
