RSS

Spiced Brown Sugar Cookies with Maple Glaze (for the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap!)

15 Dec

“The time has come, the Walrus said, to talk of many things –  of shoes and ships and sealing wax, of cabbages and kings.” – Lewis Carroll

OK, so we’re not talking about any of those things (although there is still a giant head of cabbage in my fridge, so we will be talking about cabbages at some point). 😉 Today, we are talking about cookies. After all, it’s reveal day!

I did a lot of thinking about what cookies I wanted to send this year. When I signed up for the swap, I knew that I wasn’t going to have time to get my cookies in the mail after Thanksgiving. So rather than go for a Christmas cookie, I chose a fall cookie and sent them before Thanksgiving. Good thing too, since we’ve spent the last 3 weeks working with drywall, thinset, tile and paint.

It was great, though, in the middle of construction and chaos, to get boxes of delicious cookies in the mail! We made quick work of all three batches, and Andy declared that all of them could become regulars in our house. We received chocolate mint crinkle cookies from Stacy at the Baking Bandit, chocolate peppermint patty cookies from Carla at Alyssa and Carla, and snowball cookies from Terri at Love and Confections. We loved them all. It’s no secret that the chocolate-mint combo is near and dear to our hearts (right after the chocolate-peanut butter combo), and those snowball cookies, well, there was definitely an almond flavor to them, and I LOVE almond extract. And the super cute tin? Totally using that to pack up a food gift this Christmas. So, a big thank you to my “secret Santa” bakers – you fueled us through many late nights!

2014 Swap Cookies copy

 

Like I said, I chose a fall cookie. Brown sugar, spices and maple. I love maple syrup, and I’ve had Annie’s spiced brown sugar cutout cookies bookmarked for a while. I decided that they’d be the perfect with a little maple extract and a simple maple glaze/icing. They weren’t fancy – especially since I cut them into simple circles, rather than cute shapes. (I thought circles would be less likely to crumble in shipping.)  I’d like to think, though, that what they lacked in looks, they made up for in flavor. I also hoped that the glaze would keep the cookies softer on their trip across the country! I didn’t get around to taking a picture of my packaging, but I decided to use some of my chalkboard painted tins for shipping. I thought they turned out well! Here’s hoping that they traveled just as well and that everyone liked them! I sent cookies to:

Cindy at Cindy’s Recipes and Writings
Erin at Erin Cooks
Kaitlin at I Can Cook That

Maple Sugar Cookies

Spiced Brown Sugar Cookies with Maple Glaze

For the cookies: 
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon allspice
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon maple extract

For the glaze: 
2 cups powdered sugar
3 tablespoons maple syrup
2 tablespoons milk
1/4 teaspoon maple extract
pinch of salt

To make the cookies, whisk the dry ingredients (flour through allspice) together in a large bowl. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy. Mix in the egg and the extracts until well-combined. Gently mix in the dry ingredients until just incorporated.

Place the dough on a large sheet of plastic wrap and press it into a flat disc. Wrap the dough and chill in the refrigerator until firm. (I let mine go overnight.)

When you’re ready to bake the cookies, line baking sheets with parchment paper and preheat your oven to 350.

On a lightly floured surface, roll the dough out to about 1/4″ thickness. Cut cookies out of the dough with cookie cutters, rerolling and cutting scraps as needed. Place cookies about 1 1/2″ apart on prepared baking sheets. Bake until cookies are just lightly brown, about 9 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool on baking sheets for a few minutes before removing cookies to wire racks to cool completely.

While cookies are cooling, whisk the glaze ingredients together in a small bowl. Taste, and adjust with sugar/maple syrup/milk until the glaze reaches your desired consistency/sweetness. (I’ll be the first to admit that I made up the glaze as I went along. I was looking for a consistency that was thin enough to drizzle, but not so thin that it would all run off the cookie immediately.) Cover the cooled cookies with the glaze. (I prefer to dip them in a shallow dish and then return them to the cooling rack to “dry.”)

Store in an airtight container. Cookies keep for at least a week (that’s how long we had the extras) and soften slightly as time goes on.

Cookies from Annie’s Eats, who found them at Bake at 350. Glaze is Beth’s Blue Plate original.

Click here for a printable version.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2014 in Cookies, Dessert

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Spiced Brown Sugar Cookies with Maple Glaze (for the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap!)

Leave a Reply

 
