RSS

Hello, 2015!

03 Jan

Happy New Year, everyone!! I hope you had a Merry Christmas and that 2015 is treating you well so far. Between the holidays and our bathroom remodel, things have been crazy busy here (which explains why I fell off the blogging bandwagon last month), so we’ve spent most of our long weekend relaxing.

According to WordPress, I actually wrote less in 2014 than I did in 2013, which was NOT my goal, so this recap is going to be shorter than I’d like. Here’s hoping that I can carve out a little more time for writing this year!

2014 marked another year of participation in the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap. I had a blast (no surprise there) making maple-glazed spiced brown sugar cookies for my three matches, and I had just as much fun receiving my treats from three other bloggers! Totally doing it again this year. 🙂

CSA2014 week 12

It was also another year of CSA goodness from the good people at Olden Produce Farms. They kept us stocked all summer with awesome veggies, which meant lots of fritters, salads and other farm-fresh goodness. Local friends, if you want fresh produce, you should check them out. It’s good stuff.

I made lots of ice cream, especially the ever-popular vanilla bean, but my favorite was the chocolate ice cream. It was out of this world good. Not sure why Andy and the rest of my friends don’t see it.

Chocolate Ice Cream

I also found a new favorite mashed potato recipe. Thank you, Cook’s Illustrated.

Garlic Parm Mashed Potatoes

I’m also including some pictures of recipes that I never got around to sharing (because time just got away from me). I made lemon raspberry ice cream sandwiches for Labor Day, and they were a huge hit. I also made cranberry cupcakes with cream cheese frosting, mostly so I’d have an excuse to make sugared cranberries, which are pretty much a trifecta of greatness, as far as recipes go. They’re easy and pretty, and they’re delicious. I also went out on a limb and tried this gnocchi tomato salad, and we were both blown away by how much we liked it. Once you pan fry gnocchi, you’re never going back. Seriously. I probably ate 1/4 of the fried gnocchi while I made the rest of the dinner.

Lemon Ice Cream Sandwiches

CranberryCupcakes

TomatoGnocchiSalad

I also took a cake decorating class and finally learned how to make roses! (Although, to be perfectly honest, they’re “cheater” roses, rather than the “official” Wilton rose. Details.) It was a lot of fun, and the only way to improve my skills to keep practicing, so it looks like I’d better make some cake. Whose birthday is next?

Anniversary Cake

I think that’s a pretty good summary of the last 12 months in  my kitchen. As far as 2015 goes, I’d like to try new recipes more often. I subscribe to 3 different food magazines (Cook’s Illustrated, Taste of Home, and Kraft Food & Family, in case you were wondering), and I’d like to try at least one recipe from each issue I receive throughout the year. I’m looking forward to using my Christmas gifts: a Dutch oven (because Andy and Karen are awesome) and an Ethiopian spice, berbere, from my sister-in-law. (Thanks, Kim!!) 

Thanks for reading, everyone!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 3, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Hello, 2015!

  1. Kirsten

    January 3, 2015 at 6:59 pm

    Beth,
    I’ve got some berbere too! I’m looking forward to seeing what you do with it–I’ve got ideas, but no desire to get going.
    Happy New Year!

     

Leave a Reply

 
