RSS

CSA 2015: Week 1

18 Jun

Ten years ago, if you had told me that I’d get practically giddy over a bag of fresh veggies, I’d have thought you were nuts. (I probably would have also started seriously questioning where my life was headed. I mean, who writes about food for fun? Hmm. Probably a good thing you can’t see into your future.) But here I am, (older and wiser) geeking out over the season’s first CSA share from the good people at Olden Produce.

CSA 2015 Week 1 Bag

CSA 2015 Week 1

 

Week 1 included: 

  • 1 bunch of radishes
  • 1 bundle of rhubarb
  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 1 head of Bib lettuce
  • 1/2 pound of sugar snap peas
  • 1 bag of popcorn
  • 1 quart of strawberries

So, what am I going to do with all this loot? Well, the snap peas are gone. In fact, we’re lucky they even made it into the pictures, as Andy wanted to eat them from the moment he picked up the produce. They were our vegetable for dinner last night. I’m still trying to decide what to do with the kale, although this salt and vinegar idea is the current front-runner. We had salads with dinner tonight, and we’ll probably do that again tomorrow, so that takes care of the lettuce.

I’m using the strawberries on our pizza tomorrow night, and I can’t decide what to make with the rhubarb. It’ll probably wind up in a pie. (Cook’s Illustrated has an improved strawberry rhubarb pie, and I saw a recipe for a rhubarb meringue pie as well, so now I just need to make up my mind.) 

Remember my brown butter obsession? That pretty much guarantees that I’m going to do this with the radishes.

We love popcorn with movies and game nights, so I’m sure I’ll make some of it the next time we Redbox something. Or, if I’m feeling fancy, I’ll give the popcorn the brown butter treatment as well.

That’s week one! I can’t wait till next Wednesday.

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 18, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “CSA 2015: Week 1

  1. Kirsten

    July 14, 2015 at 11:14 am

    Beth,
    I understand! I was so missing the veggies while we were on vacation, though the happy emails from the families who each took a week of my share did help a bit.
    Enjoy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
