RSS

CSA 2015: Week 2

30 Jun

We may have gotten an extra second on the clock today, but I don’t feel like it added much to my summer. We’re only two weeks into our CSA share, and it’s already taking me almost a week to write about it. Seriously, where do my summers go?

CSA 2015 Week 2This week’s share included: 

  • 1 bunch of radishes
  • 1 head of Bib lettuce
  • 1 beautiful, giant head of romaine lettuce
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • 2 kohlrabi
  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 1/2 pound of sugar snap peas

So, what did I do with all of this bounty? I added the radishes to my “stash” from last week. (Still saving them for the brown butter treatment. Thankfully, they keep well in my produce saver bags.) The snap peas went into our lunches the day after they arrived at our house. We munched on the broccoli while we enjoyed one of my favorite seasonal pizzas one night. I’ll probably make chips out of the kale (unless I add it to a pasta dish), and I’m saving the kohlrabi for some fritters.

The lettuce has made its way into some beautiful salads, and we tried using some of the Bib lettuce for lettuce wraps for our tacos tonight. Let’s just say that I’m not skilled enough to actually make that work – most of my taco filling ended up on my plate, rather than wrapped in the lettuce. (Of course, Andy tells me that’s because I overfill my taco… details…) 

Rumor has it that week three’s share will include things like zucchini and summer squash, so it looks like we’re rounding the corner into true “summer” veggies. I can’t wait. 🙂

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 30, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
