RSS

What We’re Eating & CSA 2015: Week 6

28 Jul

Would you believe that I didn’t put a meal plan together for the last couple of weeks? I guess that’s what happens when you’re gone more than you’re home. I blame the airplanes. 😉 In an attempt to get organized after a week of craziness, here’s our meal plan for this week.

Monday 7/27 – Burgers, corn on the cob and cucumbers (I have a tomato and corn from our CSA for the burgers, along with cucumbers from our garden to use! So excited!)
Tuesday 7/28 – Zucchini fritters, peaches and broccoli
Wednesday 7/29 – Grilled chicken and pasta with kale and garlic scape pesto
Thursday 7/30 – Maple-glazed salmon, a TBD vegetable (waiting to see what comes in Wednesday’s CSA delivery!), bread and cheesecake for dessert. (We’re having some friends over for dinner, and she’s making the bread. We also heard it was national cheesecake day – definitely a holiday worth celebrating.) 😉
Friday 8/1 – French dip sandwiches and a TBD vegetable

CSA 2015 Week 6

My friend Bethany was kind enough to pick up our CSA veggies last Wednesday while we were at EAA. It was so nice to come home to a fridge full of vegetables (and a hilarious note on the kitchen table). Here’s our loot from week #6:

  • 4 ears of sweet corn
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 bunch of carrots
  • Summer squash (I can’t decide if this is one or two… they’ve grown together!)
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • 2 cucumbers

I put some of the tomatoes on a pizza and in a salad for lunch. The last one went on our burgers last night, and obviously, the corn went last night too. We’ve been snacking on the broccoli and the cucumbers. I’m kind of at a loss for what to do with the carrots. Should I cook with them, or just eat them on their own? It always amazes me how much more flavor home-grown carrots have, compared to their grocery-store cousins.

In garden news, our beans have started to produce (although not in great numbers, which has me concerned that I won’t get to can any this year). Our cucumber/pickle plants are going like crazy though! We planted “bush pickles” since the plants would be smaller, and they are giving us at least two cucumbers every day or so! I’m going to try making some pickles with them tonight – now I just need to decide if I’ll make refrigerator pickles, or if I should can them. (Slicing cucumbers and putting them in the refrigerator sounds much nicer than breaking out the canner on a 90+ degree day.) 

Our tomato plants are looking rather sad as well. I don’t know what’s going on, but three of the six plants look like they’re about ready to give up the ghost. I may have to buy extra tomatoes to can this fall. We did harvest our garlic this past weekend, digging nine cloves from the ground. Now I have to decide if we should put anything else in its place – a fresh crop of lettuce, maybe? We’ll see…

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 28, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
