RSS

CSA 2015: Week 7 & 8

10 Aug

Ahh, summertime. The breezes are warm, the sun is bright, and the refrigerator is overflowing with zucchini. No, seriously. Between coworkers, neighbors and our CSA, we have lots of the green monster around here. I foresee a lot of bread and fritters in our future.

 
CSA 2015 Week 7

Week 7:

  • 4 tomatoes
  • 4 ears of corn
  • 1 pint of blueberries
  • 1 head of lettuce
  • Summer squash
  • Zucchini
  • Sugar snap peas
  • Cucumber
  • Jalapeno peppers

I made a jalapeno-cheddar zucchini bread with part of the jalapenos, and the rest will probably end up in a batch of homemade pico de gallo. It should come as no surprise that we ate the sugar snap peas and blueberries all on their own. In attempt to branch out from the ever-popular fritter, I made zucchini lasagna rolls with the summer squash. (They were good, but kind of putsy to put together. I might just layer the filling on the lasagna noodles next time, rather than rolling them.) The lettuce ended up in a salad along with the cucumber and some tomato.

And, believe it or not, we actually didn’t eat the corn by itself. (I know, I was shocked too.) My latest issue of Southern Living had a corn and potato chowder that sounded too good to pass up. It was delicious, although we both decided that it would be improved with a little bit of bacon. But, then again, what isn’t improved with bacon? 😉

CSA 2015 Week 8

Week 8:

  • 4 ears of sweet corn
  • 4 beets
  • 1 patty pan squash
  • 1 head of cabbage
  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 zucchini
  • 1 summer squash
  • 1 pound of beans

I think I can start breaking this list down into two categories: “Things we eat as-is” and “Things that become ingredients.” 😉 Topping the as-is side of things would be the sweet corn and the cucumber. The cauliflower and beets are still hanging out in the fridge, waiting for a cooler day so I can roast them. I’m planning on turning the cabbage into coleslaw, and the beans are going to be a side dish one of these nights. I made a loaf of zucchini bread with the summer squash, and the rest of the squash and zucchini went into the fridge. I’m either going to have to shredded and freeze them soon or turn out several more loaves of bread.

In other produce news, we crossed off something that’s been on my bucket list ever since we moved to Wisconsin: cherry picking in Door County. Andy’s always been on the fence about the idea, since he prefers sweet cherries over the tart pie cherries, but I finally won him over (and combined the trip with a bike excursion that we’d been talking about all summer as well). We picked two pails of cherries, and while I’m sure most of them will wind up in pie, we discovered that they make perfect frozen treats all on their own. 😀

And get this: We FINALLY figured out what to do with those two fennel bulbs that we received a few weeks ago. Thanks to those handy produce-saver bags from my Grandma, the bulbs were still in perfect shape in the back of my refrigerator. I was flipping through an old issue of Everyday Food when I discovered an entire section on grilled pizza. OK, so grilled pizza is nothing new in our world, but this was a fennel-onion-fontina grilled pizza. The fennel gets caramelized with some onions and then used as a “sauce” on the pizza. I figured I’d give it a shot, and to our surprise, both Andy and I really liked the caramelized fennel-onion mixture. (When I made the pizza last weekend, I added some leftover steak slices, and it was amazing. I’d blog about it, but there are no pictures. Whoops. Maybe next time.)

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 10, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
