RSS

CSA 2015: Weeks 9, 10 & 11 (AKA taking this show on the road!)

27 Aug

Whew. We made it to the end of August. Things have been a little quiet on the blog lately, thanks to our ridiculous summer schedule. The last couple of weeks have been full of produce triage (canning peaches, making jam, blanching and freezing carrots, making refrigerator pickles, just to name a few things) and vacation prep. Andy and I are getting ready to hit the road again for a couple weeks of boot camp training relaxation. (Our vacations tend to include a LOT of hiking up mountains. He calls it relaxing; I call it work. Now, the time in the hammock with a book? That’s relaxing. Anyway…)

In addition to our weekly produce share, I also ordered 1 1/2 bushels of fresh peaches, which we have been enjoying in SO many forms. We’ve had peach cobbler, peach pie, peach sangria popsicles, brown butter peach shortbread bars… and of course, dozens of peaches on their own.

CSA 2015 Week 9
Week 9:

  • Sweet corn
  • Cabbage
  • Beans
  • Carrots
  • Beets
  • Onions
  • Zucchini/Summer squash

I don’t have a lot of new “this is what I did with the veggies” things to share, but we did have one five-star home run dish with the produce over the last few weeks. Martha Stewart came through for us with a zucchini-orzo-corn-feta salad. It was amazing. I made half a batch (with a full amount of feta cheese), and we had enough for dinner and a couple of lunches. It was so, so good. And don’t look now, but even Mr. I Dislike Pasta Salad loved it. Maybe he’s turning a corner… 😉

CSA 2015 Week 10

Week 10:

  • Sweet corn
  • Tomatoes
  • Green bell peppers
  • Banana peppers
  • Jalapeno peppers
  • Eggplant
  • Cucumbers
  • Beets

I’m going to be the first to admit that I couldn’t come up with an idea for the eggplant. It’s a challenging vegetable for me. I was going to roast it and turn it into dip, but time got away from me. Thankfully, my friend Karen loves eggplant, so I sent it home with her so it wouldn’t rot in the fridge while we’re gone.

CSA 2015 Week 11

Week 11:

  • Apples
  • Kohlrabi
  • Beets
  • Cucumbers
  • Sweet corn
  • Tomatoes
  • Jalapeno peppers
  • Poblano peppers

I’ve been trying to work as much produce as possible into our camping meals (easier said than done when you need to fit two weeks’ worth of gear into a Nissan Versa). Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

  • Coleslaw (goes great with burgers and brats)
  • Beef stew (perfect for some of those carrots)
  • Sliced cucumbers (perfect for snacks and lunches)
  • Pickled banana peppers (for my pie-iron pizzas. BEST. TOPPING. EVER.)
  • Tortellini soup (uses the tomatoes from our CSA and Swiss chard from our garden. Win-win!)
  • Chopped peppers/onions/tomatoes (again, for pizza.)
  • Peaches and cream muffins (Sounds like a good start to our mornings, if you ask me.) 
  • Homemade pico di gallo to go with our rice and bean meal (also used some of those jalapenos! Win-win!)
  • Tomatoes (for burgers and pizza) 
  • Apples (for trail/road food) 

We’re also taking green beans to have with a couple of meals, so I won’t feel nearly as bad about the massive amounts of chex mix that we’ll be eating on the trail. 😉 By the end of the trip, we’ll be down to things like spaghetti and rice and beans (you know, stuff that keeps well without a refrigerator).

I’m taking Kirsten’s advice and having my friend Bethany pick up our CSA share while we’re gone. After all, I’d hate to see the food go to waste. So, you may get lucky enough to hear from Bethany about her experiences with our veggies too!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 27, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “CSA 2015: Weeks 9, 10 & 11 (AKA taking this show on the road!)

  1. Kirsten

    August 29, 2015 at 6:04 am

    Thanks for the shout out, Beth! I have been walking down to the farmer’s market each Saturday morning and buying peaches. Peach salsa is my jam this year–oh my is it ever good!

     
    • Beth

      August 29, 2015 at 7:51 am

      Peach salsa, I wish I would have thought of that! Maybe I can find some decent late peaches when we get back and try that out!

       
  2. Bonnie BALDWIN

    August 29, 2015 at 9:12 am

    When are you leaving for vacation. I wrote to you a min. Ago but didn’t see how to send this .l don’t think I sent it. Have a great time and loads of fun.
    Love you both.

     
    • Beth

      August 29, 2015 at 7:03 pm

      We left yesterday and will get back the 13th! So far we’re having a great time!

       

Leave a Reply

 
