RSS

We’re Back! CSA 2015: Weeks 14 & 15, Plus What We’re Eating

28 Sep

Hello everyone!

We are back from vacation, and I am sort of caught up with real life, at least at home. We won’t talk about the massive piles on my desk at work. Two weeks off is totally worth it though. A big thanks to Bethany for picking up our CSA (and writing about it for you all!) while we were in Wyoming. I’m so glad she could use our veggies so they wouldn’t go to waste. She and her Andy are pretty much the best. They filled our fridge with some “welcome home” groceries so we would have something to eat when we rolled in late Sunday evening, and left us fun notes to come home to. Everyone should have friends this good. 😀

As great as vacation was, I will be the first to admit that I was glad to get home and back to my kitchen. There’s nothing like two weeks in the woods to make you appreciate things like running water, dishwashers and fresh produce. Not that we ate poorly on vacation – quite the opposite, in fact. Andy’s brother, Dan, and his family joined us for the second week, and let me tell you, Dan and Kim make a mean London broil. Seriously amazing. I’m surprised the bears didn’t come lick the fire grate after we went to bed. I may have to let them guest blog about it sometime!

Andy was gone the first weekend after we returned from vacation, so I had some time to play in the kitchen as well. I made jam (using blueberries that I froze in July) and another loaf of no-knead bread (adding Parmesan cheese and fresh rosemary to the loaf). I also had time to MAKE CHEESE. Yes. Real ricotta cheese, from my very own kitchen. It was amazing.

CSA 2015 Week 14

Week 14:

  • 4 ears of sweet corn
  • 2 summer squash
  • Sweet peppers
  • Kohlrabi
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Tomatoes (including more of those indigo kumquat tomatoes that Bethany sampled for us!) 
  • Beets
  • Cucumbers

 

CSA 2015 week 15

Week 15

  • Green tomatoes (which are ripening nicely for us) 
  • Eggplant
  • Sweet peppers
  • Jalapeno peppers (10 OF THEM! HOLY HOT PEPPERS, BATMAN!) 
  • 4 ears of sweet corn (last of the season, and still tasty!) 
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Beets
  • Watermelon

So, what did I do with all of this? The first batch of sweet corn got added to our zucchini fritters, which I would definitely recommend. The eggplant and summer squash made their way into this salad, which I took to a church potluck last week. Six of the jalapenos went into popper dip, which Andy gladly let me take to work. The sweet peppers are finding their way into lots of things, from snacks to pizzas.

Finally, here’s the menu for this week. This is the first week I’ve actually made a meal plan in at least six weeks.

Monday 9/28 – BLTs on jalapeno biscuits and sweet corn (The latest issue of Southern Living included a recipe for jalapeno biscuits, and since I have a few laying around, it seemed like a good idea.) 😉
Tuesday 9/29 – Apricot chicken pasta and green beans
Wednesday 9/30 – Butternut squash soup and leftover biscuits
Thursday 10/1 – Salmon, roasted potatoes and a TBD vegetable
Friday 10/2 – Steak, potatoes and carrots. This one is special. We’re taking a short backpacking trip, so this is a campfire dinner. (It’s my first backpacking trip, so here’s hoping I love it as much as Andy does.)

Whew. I think that brings up to the present. Now maybe I’ll start taking pictures of things again so I have something to write about.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “We’re Back! CSA 2015: Weeks 14 & 15, Plus What We’re Eating

  1. The Spicy Simmer (Jenny)

    September 29, 2015 at 6:46 am

    Your kohlrabi looks as big as mine 😉 What are you planning on doing with it? I’m stuck!

     
    • Beth

      October 7, 2015 at 8:22 pm

      I haven’t decided yet! We ate some raw with salt, and I’ve roasted some, but I still haven’t come up with a way that makes me “love” kohlrabi yet…

       

Leave a Reply

 
