RSS

CSA 2015: Weeks 16 & 17

12 Oct

The days are getting shorter; the leaves are changing; and, best of all, we have SQUASH in our CSA! It must be fall! Woohoo! As much as I love the first few weeks of spring produce, fall veggies are where it’s at. They last longer, so I have fewer produce-induced panics. 😉 Plus, there’s something special about late-season produce. Knowing that there’s only a few weeks left makes everything taste sweeter.

CSA 2015 week 16

Pepper-pa-looza! (And please disregard the mess in my kitchen…)

Week 16:

  • Sweet yellow peppers
  • Red onions
  • Asian greens
  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 2 green bell peppers
  • 1 1/4 pounds tomatillos
  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • Banana peppers
  • 4 poblano peppers

 

CSA 2015 week 17

Week 17

  • Carrots
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • 1 bag of Asian greens
  • 5 jalapeno peppers
  • Beets
  • 1 bunch of pac choi
  • Sweet potato leaves
  • 2 acorn squash
  • Red potatoes
  • Onions

So, what did I do with all of this awesomeness? Well, I started with salsa verde, which made for some amazing pork tacos. Then I made a roasted pepper-sausage-pasta dish. I used the leftover pork from our tacos to make nachos for Friday’s dinner. (Perk of being an adult: It’s perfectly OK to eat appetizers for dinner on Friday night.) Since I seem to be on a Tex-Mex kick, I used the last of the sweet peppers in tonight’s fajitas.

We’ve had some great salads with the greens, but I am not sure what to do with the sweet potato leaves. Our CSA email said that they’re good in stir fry, so I may try that. I also read that they are wilt down like spinach, so that’s an option too. I plan on pickling the banana peppers, and I am going to make our favorite stuffed squash dish with the acorn squash. Thank goodness beets keep well in cold storage, since they’ve taken over an entire drawer in our refrigerator. We’ll roast and enjoy them once the more perishable vegetables are gone.

We have one more week left in our CSA, and then one final late-season share, so the goodness continues for a couple more weeks.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 12, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
