RSS

CSA 2015: Late Season Share – The Last Hurrah

12 Nov

Our CSA’s standard “season” is 18 weeks long, which gives us produce from sometime in June through sometime in October. Then we have a break for a few weeks (which gives me a chance to clear some space in the fridge) before the one-time, late-season share arrives. It’s larger than our weekly share, and it has some of my favorite veggies. 🙂

CSA 2015 Late Share

We received:

  • 1 head of cabbage
  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 1 giant stalk of Brussels sprouts
  • Beets
  • Onions
  • Shallots (SO excited about these. Just ask Andy.)
  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 1 bag of mixed greens
  • Butternut squash
  • Celeriac
  • 1 jar of “Cowboy Candy” – sweet pickled jalapeno peppers
  • Potatoes
  • Carrots
  • 2 pounds of fresh cranberries (SO, SO, SO good. I love almost anything with cranberries. Including this pie.) 

I made coleslaw and our go-to cabbage and noodle dish with the cabbage, and we shared the Cowboy Candy with Arron and Karen, since he’s a fan of all things pickled. We had some beautiful salads with the greens. The cauliflower and half of the Brussels sprouts made their way into my own variation of this dish. I couldn’t even begin to tell you what all we’ve done with the onions, since I put them in ALL THE THINGS. 😀 We still have to eat the kale, and I plan on using the celeriac in soups/stews.

I finally found a use for the smaller, buttercup squash we received a few weeks ago: squash toasts with caramelized onions and ricotta. They were amazing, and, for once, I’m not exaggerating. Seriously. Andy rated them higher than vanilla bean ice cream, which is saying something since that’s pretty much the pinnacle of greatness in his mind. I think the only thing that would make them better is homemade ricotta. Next time.

In other produce news, Andy’s coworker shared some of the world’s biggest beets and carrots with us, so we are set with root vegetables for a while. (Seriously. These beets are the size of a baby’s head.) I’m thinking this might be a good time to try some of those carrot soup recipes I’ve been saving. I may try making beet chips again, since we have plenty of them.

And that brings us to the end of the fresh produce here in Wisconsin. We’ll enjoy our frozen and canned produce for the next few months, and I am already counting down the days until our garlic pokes up in the garden. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 12, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
