RSS

Friendsgiving!

24 Nov

FriendsgivingI’ve said it before, but somethings are worth repeating: I have amazing friends. You know the saying “friends are the family you get to choose”? That’s how I feel about these people. No matter what we’re doing, two things are certain: We will laugh until our sides hurt or until we cry (sometimes both), and we will eat good food.

Last year we had our first “Friendsgiving,” and it was such a success that we decided to repeat it this year. I had the privilege of hosting this year’s event, and I used it as an excuse to break out all of my serving dishes and the never-used, real silverware!

I also had the honor of making the turkey and gravy. This was only the second or third time I’d ever made a turkey in my life, and I am glad to report that it was a success! I used a new recipe, and while the flavor was good, wrestling a 16 pound bird in and out of roasting bags full of two gallons of brine was kind of a hassle. It sloshed brine/raw turkey juice on Andy twice, leaving him to declare war. “I WILL CUT YOU,” he threatened at one point.

I tried a new gravy recipe too, which ended up being pretty salty thanks to our brined drippings. I added some water and extra apple cider to balance it out though, and now I’m hoarding the leftovers.

One of the best things about this dinner is the fact that everyone brought part of the meal, so no one was overloaded. (Overloaded with work, that is. We were all overloaded post-dinner.) 

The rest of our menu included:

Stuffing (made by Bethany of guest-blogging fame)
Green bean casserole (homemade, courtesy of Jackie)
Mashed potato puffs (thanks to Lacey)
Spinach salad (from Emily, the brains behind our cooking club nights)
Cranberry sauce (also from Jackie. This ended up being Andy’s favorite item. He literally ate it by the spoonful.) 
Sweet potatoes (I tried a crockpot recipe from Southern Living, and oh my goodness, it was AMAZING. I will make it again for sure.) 
Rolls (brought by Lacey, and the perfect vehicle for the herbed butter I made) 
French onion soup (Jackie’s husband, also an Andy, MADE HIS OWN BEEF STOCK/BROTH for this soup. AWESOME.) 
Chocolate cream pie 
Vanilla bean ice cream
Cranberry margaritas (Another brilliant Emily idea. I kind of wanted to drink the entire pitcher.) 
Apple cider (Thanks to Bethany for introducing us to another local beverage!) 

Of course, I was so busy having a good time that I didn’t take pictures of the food or the event, and of course, we forgot to get a picture of all of us (AGAIN!), but that’s OK.

I am so thankful for these friends and the investment that they’ve made in our lives. I really do love them like family. 🙂 I’m already looking forward to Friendsgiving 2016!

Have a Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Friendsgiving!

  1. bethanyparrish

    November 24, 2015 at 10:12 pm

    Love you, Beth and Andy! Thanks for hosting and for making us laugh all the time! It was the best. As are you. As was the vanilla bean ice cream!

     
    • Beth

      November 24, 2015 at 10:20 pm

      Well, I don’t know if the vanilla ice cream was the best… It’s not chocolate after all. 😉 you guys are the best too!! We love you!!

       
  2. Andy

    November 24, 2015 at 11:00 pm

    I agree with you Bethany, the vanilla bean ice cream was the best and sealed the deal (you chocolate people do not know what you are missing).

     
    • Beth

      November 24, 2015 at 11:01 pm

      We miss nothing.

       
  3. Kirsten

    November 25, 2015 at 6:36 am

    Beth–and Emily,
    Cranberry margaritas? You’ve just inspired me. Thanks!

     
    • Beth

      December 2, 2015 at 9:51 pm

      🙂 Glad to hear it! I agree, margaritas are especially inspiring! 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
