RSS

Hello, 2016!

05 Jan

So, I’m five days late with this 2015 recap. And while that’s two days later than last year’s recap (talk about starting things off on the wrong foot), it’s also two days earlier than when I posted my 2014 recap. As long as we’re not halfway to February, I’m going to call it good.

If you only look at the numbers, things weren’t so hot here at the Blue Plate Special. I only published 41 posts (down from a whopping 42 the year before), which mean that my 2015 goal of “writing more” was clearly not a success. Since I’m not really a numbers girl, let’s focus on what I DID accomplish over the last 365 (or so) days.

I bought a popsicle mold and jumped headfirst into the world of frozen food on a stick.

Fudgesicles

Apparently, I only wrote about one of those adventures. Hmm. I  promise that I made a lot of popsicles though.

We did a fairly good job of eating our veggies again, thanks to the good people at Olden Produce Farms. I also had my first-ever guest blog post from my awesome friend, Bethany. 🙂

No-Knead Bacon Bread

I tried (and succeeded) at “legit” homemade bread in my Dutch oven. I definitely need (knead, haha) to make more of this.

I also participated in the Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap for the third year. I have more fun each year, and I am already looking forward to next year’s swap. (Not that I am ready to wish 2016 away or anything!)

Food-wise, I started the new year with some great successes! (Of course, I was so busy having fun with my friends that I didn’t photograph any of the items… which means I should probably make these things again.)

For New Year’s Eve, I made Bailey’s truffles and Parmesan crackers, which I served with some baked brie.

Frittata

I broke out a favorite for New Year’s brunch. Feta cheese, bacon and potatoes for the win!

Garlic Parm Mashed Potatoes

The biggest excitement though, was the Cook’s Illustrated-inspired meal that I made last Saturday night. I tried the Tuscan-style roast pork from the latest issue, and I also made the garlic Parmesan mashed potatoes of 2014 fame. OH.MY.GOODNESS. We shared that dinner with Andy and Bethany, and the four of us could not stop eating. Seriously so good. I should probably write about it at some point, but I will need another long weekend to make the roast pork. (It seriously took half of my afternoon, but that’s not a surprise, right? It is a CI recipe after all.) I also made lemon pudding cakes for dessert that night.

Brown Butter Rhubarb Cupcakes

I also received more than 525 cupcake liners/baking cups for Christmas, so it’s safe to say that more muffins and cupcakes are on the horizon.

Strawberry Summer Cake

This was one of my favorite pictures from the past year, and it seems to be the perfect segue to one of my favorite Christmas gifts: mini cast iron skillets!! (Thanks to Karen. Who is nothing short of awesome.) I can’t wait to take pictures of tiny food in adorable skillets! You know, since everything is much cuter in miniature.

Other “goals” on my 2016 to-do list include trying new recipes from more of my magazines and writing “more” (whatever that looks like). We’re looking forward to another season of produce in our CSA, and I can’t wait until the garlic starts popping through the ground this spring. Who knows, maybe this will be the year that we finally start composting. Here’s to another year of adventures!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Hello, 2016!

  1. quercuscommunity

    January 5, 2016 at 9:37 pm

    Looks like you had a good year even without writing more. Good luck with this year and yes, please do start composting. The worms and planet will love you. 😉

     
    • Beth

      January 5, 2016 at 9:53 pm

      Thanks!! It’s definitely something I plan on looking into once we thaw out in the spring!

       

Leave a Reply

 
