RSS

Being Grateful

18 Feb

I’m going to up front with you about this post. You won’t find a recipe here.

Don’t worry, I haven’t run out of new things to try or share. (Seriously, that list is never-ending.) I haven’t taken the time to pull pictures off the camera lately, and rather than leave you hanging, I thought I’d take advantage of a writing prompt that showed up in my inbox last week. I subscribe to Death to the Stock‘s writing prompts (and their free photos), and although this is my first time using one of the prompts, they always make me think.

The prompt was, “What seemingly small thing are you grateful for today?” And since I can’t leave well enough alone, I decided to tweak it a little: “What seemingly small KITCHEN thing are you grateful for today?”

I mean, I love a lot of things in my kitchen.  Every time we have people over, the dishwasher becomes my new best friend. When it comes to baking, I’d be lost without my Kitchen Aid mixer. (Seriously. How did people make meringue before those things?)  On busy days, I can’t get enough of my crock pot. I wore out my first garlic press because we eat a LOT of garlic. And that cast iron skillet, well, it’s rapidly becoming my go-to pan for ALL THE THINGS. 🙂

So yeah. How would I pick just one thing? It’s tough, I tell you. Kind of like picking a favorite kid. 😉

After a little bit of consideration, I’m going with my Microplane zester. Want to know why?

MicroplaneZester

  1. It was a wedding gift from my grandparents in Maine. When we got married, Grandma and Grandpa gave us a basket of some awesome things, including my favorite kitchen towels and an awesome knife, and this zester was one of them. Every time I use it, I’m reminded of how much they love us. Awww…
  2. It’s sharp, which can be a double-edged sword (or grater, hahaha) in some cases. I have accidentally shredded my finger, but it can handle the hardest blocks of Parmesan cheese with no problem.
  3. I can use it for dinner OR dessert. It’s no secret that I love baking and all things sweet, but let’s be honest: I make dinner WAY more often than I make dessert. A pile of Parm for our favorite soup? Done. Finely minced/grated garlic for potatoes? No problem. Lemon zest for cake/frosting/cheesecake/cookies? Let me handle that for you. Honestly, I use the zester at least a couple times a week.
  4. PUNS! I’m the world’s biggest dork sometimes, and I get a kick out of the fact that I’m GRATE-ful for a grater. Or that it’s a grate great kitchen tool. (Haha… see what I did there?) Like I said, dork. 🙂

So there you have it – the first prompt-inspired post here on the Blue Plate Special. I promise I’ll be back soon with more food. I mean, you probably want to know all about the pie I baked last weekend. 🙂

(Full disclosure: Microplane has no idea that I’m writing about them. I have not been compensated for this post. In fact, I’m fairly certain they don’t even know this little blog exists. I just really like the zester.)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 18, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
