RSS

CSA 2016: Week 7 – Week 10

22 Aug

I. Am. So. Far. Behind. I’d blame our busy summer schedule, but since I say the same thing ever year, I don’t think that’s a good excuse. Whatever the reason, I am just now getting around to talking about weeks 7 and 8 (even though we are eating the goodies from week 9 10 as I write this). We’ll be lucky if I even get a post up about week 11, since I plan to pick it up on my way home from work tomorrow, throw it in the cooler and drive it across the country. Veggies on vacation! (That sounds so much healthier than our other vacation staple, ice cream.) 

CSA 2016 Week 7

We picked up week 7 during EAA Airventure, which meant that most of it ended up in produce saver bags to wait until  the airplanes flew home. Except the blueberries, of course. We ate those by the handful until the pint was gone, which, as you can probably imagine, didn’t take long. Here’s what we received:

  • 3 tomatoes
  • 1 pint of blueberries
  • 1 cucumber
  • 2 red onions
  • 4 ears of corn
  • 1 kohlrabi
  • 1 1/4 lbs. of green and yellow beans

CSA 2016 Week 8

For week 8, we received:

  • 2 yellow onions
  • 3 red onions
  • 4 tomatoes
  • 4 ears of sweet corn
  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 lb. of snap peas
  • 2 heads of broccoli
  • 1 eggplant
  • 1 bunch of beets

Neither of us were overly thrilled about eggplant. However, I think I found our preferred method of eating it, thanks to Cook’s Illustrated. Eggplant involtini (especially with the homemade tomato sauce) isn’t half bad.

CSA 2016 week 9

Here’s week 9:

  • 4 ears of sweet corn
  • 1 bunch of Swiss chard
  • 5 red onions
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • 4 jalapeño peppers
  • 1 bag of cherry tomatoes
  • 1 bag of baby red potatoes
  • 6 tomatoes

I did lots of typical stuff with a lot of this: corn on the cob (boiled to perfection thanks to Cook’s Illustrated), pico de gallo and caprese. It may not be fancy, but it was all delicious.

CSA 2016 Week 10

OK, week 10. (Not only is my writing getting shorter, but my pictures are getting worse. Some blogger I am!) 

  • 2 pints of cherry tomatoes
  • 3 leeks
  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • 4 ears of sweet corn
  • 1 bulb of fennel
  • 1 bunch of beets

The cherry tomatoes ended up in another batch of caprese, and I caramelized the fennel with some onions. I roasted the cauliflower and the broccoli. Thank goodness beets keep well in the fridge, since most of our CSA beets are still hanging out in the crisper drawer. When we get back from vacation, I’d like to use a bunch of them in this beautiful tart. We ate half of the corn on the cob. I used the last two ears of corn (along with the leeks and some Swiss chard from our garden) to make this tasty flatbread / pizza for dinner last night.

Whew! I think we’re all caught up now… or at least until tomorrow’s pick up. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
