RSS

CSA 2016: Weeks 13-18

27 Oct

OK, so I really dropped the ball when it came to writing about our weekly CSA deliveries. Thank goodness I didn’t forget to pick up the veggies each week. We just received our final regular season share two weeks ago, which means that we’ll have one more late season share in November. Sigh. 18 weeks goes so fast!

Week 13 was the last hurrah for the true summer foods, in my opinion, since it was the last batch of sweet corn for the season. The melon was a little disappointing, if I’m being honest. I don’t know if it wasn’t ripe when we cut into it, but it wasn’t very sweet. The sweet corn was though. 🙂

csa-2016-week-14

Week 13 included:

  • Sweet Corn
  • Green/Yellow Beans
  • Melons
  • Onions
  • Patty Pans
  • Sweet Peppers
  • Banana Peppers
  • Jalapenos
  • Romaine Lettuce

The melon was much better the next week!

csa-2016-week-14

  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Melon
  • Cucumber
  • Tomatoes
  • Green Bell Pepper
  • Sweet Onions
  • Kohlrabi
  • Green Beans

Week 15 was the start of fall foods in our weekly share. I love summer sweet corn and zucchini just as much as the next girl, but fall food holds a special place in my heart. I made coleslaw for shrimp tacos and our favorite cabbage dish with the head of cabbage, and the carrots ended up in our latest mid-week dinner win.

csa-2016-week-15

Week 15 included:

  • Tomatoes
  • Kale
  • Onions
  • Carrots
  • Cabbage
  • Peppers
  • Zucchini
  • Cucumber
  • Sweet Potato Leaves (I sautéed them with onions in bacon grease for breakfast one day. Delicious.) 

I was pretty excited about week 16. I mean, potatoes and acorn squash?? I wish I could say that I did something creative with the green tomatoes, but I just let them ripen on the counter. 🙂

csa-2016-week-16

Week 16 also included:

  • Kale
  • Beets
  • Peppers
  • Broccoli
  • Green Tomatoes
  • Onions

csa-2016-week-17

Week 17: AKA, the week of the worms. Seriously.Do you see that giant thing on the broccoli in the picture?? Eww.

Now, we’ve been eating from a CSA for several years, and I grew up eating garden-fresh produce (thanks to my green-thumb, garden-loving parents), so I know that sometimes you get bugs in your veggies. It’s a fact of life. (It’s also the reason I don’t plant broccoli in our garden.) I have vivid memories of running out of the house as a kid because there was a worm in the ear of corn I was husking. My dad always said, “It’s just some extra protein.” Umm.. no thanks.

Anyway… Andy killed the giant worm that you see in the picture, plus another couple that he found on / in the head of broccoli. He assured me that he had gotten them all. I still had him cook the broccoli, and before he roasted it, he said that yes, he had looked it over. There were no worms, he promised. We ate the broccoli, and it was delicious. Andy packed up the leftovers for lunches the next day, because he’s just that nice.

As I was sitting at my desk, finishing my lunch, I decided to scrape the pieces of roasted garlic out of the bowl and eat them. And that’s when I realized that the crunchy brown piece in the bowl was NOT a delicious, crispy piece of garlic but a ROASTED, CRISPY WORM. EW. EW. EW. Appetite = gone.

I fired off a text to my lunch-packer: THERE IS A WORM IN MY BROCCOLI.

His response? “Don’t look before you eat it next time. 😀 “

Besides the head of broccoli and the “extra protein,” week 17 included:

  • Stripetti Squash (It’s a cross between Delicata & Spaghetti. I prepped it just like a spaghetti squash.)
  • Eggplant
  • Peppers
  • Swiss Chard
  • Sun Jewel Asian Melons (They taste just like a pear and a cantaloupe got together, and seeing as how those are two of my least favorite fruits, I let Andy enjoy the whole thing.)
  • Kohlrabi
  • Onions

Anyway. On to week 18.

csa-2016-week-18

This time, I made sure Andy inspected the broccoli and the romanesco. He did remove a few green, wiggly hitchhikers. Eww.

Moving on… we received:

  • Radishes
  • Pea Shoots
  • Kale
  • Fennel
  • Peppers
  • Hubbard Squash
  • Broccoli
  • Romanesco
  • Onions

 

csa-romenesco

The romanesco was a new vegetable for us, and we roasted it with garlic, olive oil, salt and pepper. We thought it tasted kind of like cauliflower, so it was a hit at our house! The cute Christmas-tree shape was fun too. 🙂

That brings us up to the present, at least as far as vegetables are concerned. Maybe it won’t take 6 weeks for me to write about our late season share.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “CSA 2016: Weeks 13-18

  1. Kirsten

    October 28, 2016 at 1:19 pm

    Beth,
    Worms! I release them back into the wild, far away from my garden beds, and wish them well.
    (It looks like there’s a giant one on the top of the romanesco!)
    Lovely haul this Fall!

     
    • Beth

      November 3, 2016 at 7:32 pm

      You are a better woman than me! And I agree! I thought it was a worm at first, but it is just the way it grew! So weird.

       

Leave a Reply

 
