RSS

CSA 2016: Late Season Share

19 Nov

Each season, we receive 18 weeks of freshly picked farm goodness from Olden Organics. It’s a great way to eat lots of veggies throughout the summer, especially since our garden doesn’t always live up to our expectations. The summer always seems to fly by though, and before I know it, we’re done with our weekly produce pick ups.

Thankfully, our CSA program includes one final “late season” share that stocks our fridge for a few more weeks. We picked it up in early November, and I still have some of these items in the pantry and fridge.

csa-2016-late-share

This year’s share included:

  • 4 apples
  • 1 head of cabbage
  • 1 bunch of collard greens
  • 1 head of romanesco
  • 1 bunch of radishes
  • several russet potatoes
  • 1 bag of fresh cranberries
  • 3 heads of garlic
  • celeriac
  • 1 bag of sweet potatoes
  • onions
  • butternut squash
  • fennel
  • 1 jar of Hippie Wayne’s marinated mushrooms

In true “addicted to fruit” fashion, we ate the apples. I made cabbage and noodles with the head of cabbage, and I tried a new recipe for the collard greens. I ended up roasting the romanesco with olive oil, salt and pepper, and it should go without saying that I’m putting the onions and garlic in almost everything I make.

The cranberries are stashed in the freezer, waiting for the perfect recipe. (Or, if we’re being honest, they’re waiting for me to decide which recipe to make.)

I wasn’t sure what to do with the fennel and celeriac, but then I saw this recipe. I think I’m going try it! I plan to share the mushrooms with some fungus-loving friends, since neither of us are fans.

That wraps things up for the year. I can’t wait to see what next year brings. (Here’s hoping that 2017 goes a little lighter on the kohlrabi!) 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 19, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
