CSA 2014: Weeks 8-14

Oh my, I have been slacking on sharing our CSA goodness. Seven weeks without a CSA update? Yikes. To make matters worse, I don’t even have pictures of weeks nine and 10, since we were out of town, but my friend Laura was kind enough to pick up my veggies and enjoy them.

So, without further delay, here’s a look at our veggies for the last two months:

Week 8: Most of this went on vacation with us – except for the kohlrabi, which keeps exceptionally well in the fridge. Seriously. I think we ate it just last week.

CSA2014 week 8

Week 11: The watermelon and sweet corn were welcome additions to our Labor Day cookout. I stuffed the peppers with a Mexican-flavored risotto (thank you, SK cookbook!) and stored the beets in the fridge. (Thankfully, they keep just as well as kohlrabi!)

CSA2014 week 11

Week 12: The week of the melons. We had a cantaloupe and an Asian melon, which tasted a little like a honeydew. We also had an eggplant, which meant trying a new recipe, and we ended up loving it. (I think it was the feta, more than the eggplant…) More peppers, corn and tomatoes too.

CSA2014 week 12

Week 13: I weighed the cabbage. 6 lbs., 10 oz., in case you were wondering. Sounds like a birth announcement, doesn’t it? I have been making lots of coleslaw, and I’m pretty sure that I’ll make a batch of cabbage and noodles soon too. More peppers, which make an excellent snack in our lunches. More sweet corn and tomatoes. Another zucchini, which found its way into double-chocolate bread. Thank you, King Arthur Flour. Honestly, though, I was most excited about the green beans. It’s the simple things in life, right?

CSA2014 week 13

 

Week 14: LEEKS! Tomatillos! Sweet Potatoes! AND sweet corn! (Seriously… mid-September, and I’m still getting sweet corn? I’ll take it.) As soon as I saw the tomatillos, I knew exactly what I was doing with them. Making these enchiladas. I’ll use the poblano instead of hatch chiles (because I have never seen them here in Wisconsin). I think I’m going to try a new recipe with the kale, and I did something new with the corn tonight.

CSA2014 week 14

 

And there you have it. I’m all caught up… just in time to get more veggies on Wednesday. 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment