RSS

Catching Up… CSA Week 13 & 14

18 Sep

So it’s been a while since I’ve written anything. We’ve been busy! Labor day brought a camping trip with great friends, and then we jumped right into vacation prep. We spent six days in Ontario at Lake Superior Provincial Park, and then two days in the Upper Peninsula, at Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. (Hands down, this is my favorite place to visit. You must go there. And when you do, get ice cream at the Frozen Flamingo in Munising.) 

Anyway. Back to the food. That’s why we’re all here, right? (I’m assuming someone is still reading…) 

A few days before we left for our road trip, we picked up box 13 of 20 from our CSA. Enter produce-induced panic. Here we are, headed for Canada, and I’m faced with this:

Lucky for us, we had dinner with friends planned before we left as well. We enjoyed the corn on the cob with them, and I turned the cabbage into coleslaw. The tomatoes went into soup and spaghetti sauce, which was packed into the cooler and made for great fireside dinners. Believe it or not, the squash and the pepper were stowed in the crisper drawer, with the hopes that they’d be in decent shape when we returned. (And they’re still good! Thanks in part, I’m sure, to the produce saver bags from my Grandma.)

That took care of week 13, and since we were going to be out of town for the next week, I asked my friend Bethany to pick up our box. She loves food as much as I do, so I knew that she’d get some good use out of the goodies. And she even took a picture for me, so you can see what we received! 🙂

Bethany tells me that they grilled the corn and enjoyed the cherry tomatoes with balsamic vinegar, fresh mozzarella and basil. The regular tomatoes became part of this amazing sounding pizza-roll-up type dish, with proscuitto, basil, garlic and Parmesan. She described it as a savory cinnamon roll. How fantastic does that sound?

The eggplant, squash and tomatilloes found their way back to my fridge, with the eggplant making its way into tonight’s dinner. I’d really like to stuff the squash and bake them. I’m thinking a sausage/bread crumb/cheese/celery/onion/apple filling would hit the spot. (Can you tell that I’m in a “fall food” mood?) 

Now for the real treasure, the tomatillos. I’ve wanted to try them forever, but I’ve never bought them because, frankly, I wasn’t sure what a “good” tomatillo would look like in the store. And since we have TACO NIGHT coming up this week (can you tell I’m pumped?), I think it’s a good chance to use them. Salsa verde, perhaps? I am busily scanning the internet for the best ways to use this bag of green goodness.

So there you have it. I’m caught up with “what’s in my box” just in time to get another round tomorrow! And speaking of boxes of goodies, check out the link party at InHerChucks. Lots of produce possibilities!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Catching Up… CSA Week 13 & 14

  1. inherchucks

    September 18, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    Thanks for linking up! Looks like a whole lot of delicious goodness 🙂

     
  2. Andrea Sutherland

    September 20, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    We went to Pictured Rocks this summer as well…but we didn’t try the ice cream. It was cloudy and cold, so we weren’t in the mood.

     
  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets

    September 21, 2012 at 7:57 am

    Your produce looks fabulous and I’ve always wanted to try tomatillos too. I hope they work out for you.
    I am so grateful peppers and squash really seem to last because I might lose my mind otherwise. I’m up to my eyeballs in peppers (bell, hot hungarian, sweet hungarian, orange yummy, and jalapeno). It’s gonna be a pepper weekend.

     
    • Beth

      September 22, 2012 at 2:42 pm

      Thanks! The salsa verde turned out pretty well! And yea, if I had to use squash as quickly as some other stuff, I’d go crazy!

       

Leave a Reply

 
