RSS

Pumpkin Persuasion

14 Dec

Andy and I have an ongoing debate about pots and pans. Specifically, the number of pots and pans that should live in my kitchen cabinets. Since he puts the clean dishes away, he battles the stacks of skillets, saucepans and stock pots. (Shameless brag here… how awesome is he? I HATE emptying the drainer and putting clean dishes away. Gotta love him!) So, the last thing I need, in his eyes, is another pan perched precariously on the shelf. Especially a pan that can be used for only one thing.

But…

there are DOUGHNUTS to be made. (Yes, I realize that I could make yeasted doughnuts and skip the whole “buy a doughnut pan” issue. But that requires much more time – these cake doughnuts baked up in under an hour, start to finish – and deep frying, which I’m not a fan of.) Enter the doughnut pan debate.

Me: Oooh, look! A doughnut recipe! If only I had a doughnut pan…
Andy: You don’t NEED a doughnut pan.
Me: But you like doughnuts! Don’t you want homemade doughnuts?
Andy: Not really. And not if it means getting another pan to fit in the drawer under the stove.
Me: *sigh* Another dream bites the dust…

Thankfully, I don’t give up easily. And I have connections. My friend Emily was willing to let me borrow her doughnut pan, and I figured that if I could whip up the world’s tastiest doughnuts, I’d convince Andy to let me add a doughnut pan of my own to my collection. (Me? Scheming? Never…) 

I saw a pumpkin doughnut recipe on Milk & Honey, and it seemed too good (and too easy!) to pass up. They were moist and full of fall flavor. They came together in a snap. I made 12 full-sized doughnuts and nearly 24 doughnut “holes,” using my mini muffin pan. They were everything I’d hoped they would be… except for the fact that they did nothing to change Andy’s mind. According to him, they were just cake baked into the shape of a doughnut. Hmm. Guess that means I need to try again!

PumpkinDoughnut

Pumpkin Doughnuts

1/2 cup vegetable oil (I used canola)
3 large eggs
1 1/2 cups sugar
15 ounces pumpkin puree
1 1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 3/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
cinnamon-sugar mixture (I simply mixed some sugar and cinnamon together until it looked like a good ratio.) 

Preheat oven to 350. Coat a doughnut pan (or a mini muffin pan, if you’re making doughnut holes) with non-stick spray.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the oil, eggs, sugar, pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, salt and baking powder. Beat on medium speed until smooth. Add the flour and mix until just combined, being careful not to overmix the batter.

Fill each well in the doughnut pan about two-thirds of the way full. (I would err on the side of “less is more” with these guys. I found that overfilling the wells caused them to look less doughnut-like.) Bake doughnuts until they test done with a toothpick (somewhere in the 15-20 minute range). Remove from the oven and let cool for a few minutes in the pan on a wire rack.

Place the cinnamon-sugar mixture in a large Ziploc bag. Before the doughnuts are completely cool, flip them out of the pan and place them, a few at a time, in the bag with the cinnamon-sugar. Seal the bag and shake to coat the doughnuts. Remove from the bag and allow to cool completely on a wire rack. Repeat the process until all doughnuts are coated.

Serve immediately. (These will get slightly soggy after a day or so, but I found that keeping some extra cinnamon-sugar on hand to toss on a day-old doughnut helped them immensely.) Store any leftover doughnuts in an airtight container.

From King Arthur Flour, via Milk & Honey

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2012 in Breads, Muffins & Rolls, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Pumpkin Persuasion

  1. kirsten@FarmFreshFeasts

    December 14, 2012 at 8:56 am

    Hooray! I commend you on a recipe that uses an entire can of a seasonal item. I just typed of a post (really, a rant with a recipe) for Monday about this issue, though mine is with fresh cranberries not pumpkin.

    But my still-simmering ranti-ness aside, this recipe looks very tasty!

    I’m with your spouse (not in the dishwasher-emptying thing, I created lives for that task) but in the space issue. I move every few years, so each time I learn a few things that make that particular kitchen work for me. I have a hanging pot rack that was my usual go-to, but it doesn’t work in this house. So there are less-frequently used kitchen items on top of the cabinets, on shelves in the family room, and in Seldom Used Kitchen #1 and #2 boxes in the basement storage area. Whatever works–as long as I can find it within a few minutes, I’m good to go.

    I think you deserve a donut pan for this! (Although if Emily is willing to share, then you still get the best of both worlds, you know?)

     

Leave a Reply

 
