RSS

Happy 2014!

07 Jan

OK, so we’re a week into the new year already, and I am just now getting to this post. Whoops. Poor time management on my part. (I blame Amazon for having all of the seasons of 24 in the instant streaming collection. Jack Bauer is keeping me from my to-do list. Seriously.) 

For me, 2013 was the year of the ice cream. I made at least nine different kinds (and those are just the ones I wrote about) last year. My ice cream making is temporarily on hold at the moment because my freezer is crammed with beef from our 1/4 of a cow. (True story. Our quarter was much bigger than we had anticipated, and I’ve been banned from buying freezer items at the grocery store.) 

CoffeeIceCreamBefore

This is one of my favorite ice creams – coffee. Mmmm…

We had another season of CSA-sponsored goodness, thanks to the good people at Olden Produce CSA. It’s one of the highlights of my summer.

CSA2013 week 9

Look! Sweet corn! and beets! And pickles… when does summer start again?

I also made quite a bit of cake – everything from cupcakes with sprinkles to torched layer cakes. I lost track of how much butter I used. I wish I’d photographed the cake I made to share with my friend Karen after she had her baby – a blackberry red wine chocolate cake. It was, in my opinion, the best cake I’ve ever made. Moist, rich, full of chocolate and spiked with blackberry wine. In fact, I think that might make a good birthday cake for Andy later on this month.

Vanilla Cupcakes

You may have noticed that I’m a sucker for cute cupcake liners. I added quite a few to my collection this Christmas, so I predict lots of bite-sized goodness this next year.

Speaking of birthday cakes, I finally made homemade monkey bread for Andy’s birthday last year. Definitely more work than cracking open a can of Pillsbury biscuits, but homemade bread dough = better than store-bought, any day of the week.

MonkeyBread

So, what’s on tap for next year? More birthdays (with cake). More veggies (with our CSA). More evenings spent laughing with good friends and family. Hopefully some of that will translate to more writing here! 🙂

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Happy 2014!

  1. Lacey

    January 7, 2014 at 9:45 pm

    I am so blessed to be your friend…and not just because of all the food you listed above!

     
    • Beth

      January 7, 2014 at 10:01 pm

      Aww!! 🙂 Love you, friend!! You’re a huge blessing in my life, for sure!

       
  2. Kirsten

    January 16, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    Beth,
    I’ve enjoyed following your work in 2013. Looking forward to more in 2014!

     
    • Beth

      January 16, 2014 at 9:43 pm

      Aw, thanks!

       

Leave a Reply

 
