RSS

Healthy Snacking

17 Aug

Nine times out of ten, my food ideas come from magazines, blogs, friends… you know, an outside source. This was not one of those times. I’m not sure where I came up with the idea for beet chips, but I know that when we received five beets a couple of weeks ago, I knew I wanted to make them. Thankfully, we live in the age of Google, which meant that I had numerous suggestions, tips and recipes at my disposal faster than you can say   “beet it!” (Ha ha ha… moving on.) 

We LOVED these. My only complaint is that I wasn’t able to slice them nearly thin enough with my kitchen knife. (My fault, not the recipe’s.) This is a job for one of those mandoline slicers. I don’t own one of those, mostly because I’m pretty sure that I’d slice off at least one of my fingers with it. (And no, I don’t think that’s an irrational fear. See?) Because the slices were thicker than normal chips, they didn’t stay crispy once they cooled, but they flavor was excellent. And since I was eating beets with just a bit of olive oil and salt, I felt like these were chips that I could get on board with (and not feel guilty about)!

The downside to this was how much they shrank up after baking. My beets were almost 3″ in diameter when I started, and they shrunk down into almost nothing. We ended up with about two small servings by the time we were done.

Beet Chips

Beets, root and greens removed
Olive Oil
Salt

Preheat oven to 350. Thinly slice beets and place in a bowl. Lightly drizzle beet slices with olive oil (less is more here – too much oil and your chips will be greasy). Place the beet slices in a single layer on a cookie sheet. Sprinkle with a pinch of salt. If desired, place a second cookie sheet on top of the beets. This helps keep the chips from curling up, or so I hear. I didn’t have an issue with my chips curling, but maybe that’s because my slices were thicker.

Bake for at least 20 minutes, turning at least once, or until the chips have dried out and are lighter in color. Remove from the oven and place on a wire rack to cool. Beets should get crispier as they cool.

Store in an airtight container.

From A Cozy Kitchen

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2012 in Appetizer

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Healthy Snacking

  1. thestuffedflamingo

    August 17, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    This is one way that I’m okay eating beets!

     

Leave a Reply

 
